Project Life

Hello my friends!  Happy New Year!  I know I’ve been absent from my blog lately, but my computer is giving me grief, so it’s in the hospital.  I really don’t like blogging from my ipad.  It takes me way too long to type on it, and I don’t like the WordPress app much.  So, I’m using my hubby’s computer to blog today.  I was excited to show my latest art journaling spread.  This is my version of “Project Life”, which is Becky Higgins’ baby.  You can read more about it here.  In a nutshell, it is a way of documenting everyday life.  Her version is much different than mine, but I wanted to give her credit for the idea, which inspired me to do my version.  Actually, I was inspired by two creative geniuses, Becky, and Kate Crane, who has been “calendar journaling” for a few years, and has a very active (and awesome) Facebook group, that I belong to.

I have been calendar journaling off and on for a couple of years now.  This year, I would like to do it consistently, so I put together a couple of months’ calendars in my A4 Moleskine journal.  During this process, I decided that the A4 size was too small for me, so I made myself a very large journal, just for the purpose of my LB calendar pages.  The journal is HUGE – I think it’s about 12″ x 15″, so the open journal is 12″ x 30″.  This gives me plenty of space to add photos to my individual days.  My idea is to use my POGO printer to print images for use in it.  These little photos are the perfect size – about 3″ wide, by 2″.  I have enough space to make each day about 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″, which is roughly double the size of my A4 journal.

I haven’t finished the cover yet, but here it is so far:PL cover unfini

The cover is made from heavy canvas, which I gessoed, and collaged, and painted.  I have added a few layers since I took this photo, so I will share the work in progress as soon as I get a chance to photograph it.

And, here is January’s calendar, before I added any photos.  I love it!  :)  I have set some “rules” for myself for this journal, in keeping with the idea of Project Life.  I am going to limit myself somewhat, so that it ends up being mostly images, rather than written journaling. I am still keeping up with my “other” calendar journal page in my Moleskine, which is mostly written journaling.  Probably more than I will be able to keep up with on a daily basis, going forward, but we’ll see how it goes.

Jan Calendar PL

So, I must go and get some exercise.  Back to my regular fitness routine!  I have been so inconsistent with my workouts for the last month or so.

So, are you keeping a daily journal this year?  I would love to see it! I also love getting comments, so please let me know you’ve been here!  :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

