Art Journaling “Project Life” style

 PL journal wip

 

My 2013 “Project Life” art journal is starting to bloom!  The outside cover is still a  work in progress, but it cruised through the “ugly phase”,  and I think it may have come out the other side!  :)PL journal detail wip

I used a lot of products on this baby. Let me see if I can remember lol…I started with canvas, which I coated with gesso, and then collage, using tissue paper, and book pages. The paper with dots along the vertical edge of the flap is drywall tape backing. I used acrylic paint, applied with a brayer, and my Silks next, which I also applied with a brayer. Then, I stenciled the numbers with gel medium (gloss). The circular, pink areas were done through a stencil, with light molding paste, tinted pink with acrylic ink. I went around the edges with quinacridone magenta acrylic ink, which looked almost black when it dried, so I added some magenta stickles on top. The “2013″ is chipboard, altered with pan pastels, and crackle medium. I coated the whole thing with Silks in “oyster”, which is a white-ish glaze. No stitching, although I considered it! All I have left to do is add some kind of ribbon or string to keep it closed.

Here is my February spread, all ready to add images and journaling.  Lots of layers on this, too.  I started this one by collaging the whole thing with Tim Holtz’ tissue paper.  Then, I stenciled with acrylic paint, and sprayed with my Dylusions inks.  I framed the calendar, and outer edge with washi tapes.  The “February” was made with very old Heidi Swapp acrylic letters, which I altered with Silks.  I went around the edge of each letter with purple dimensional medium.  The birds are Prima canvas die cuts, colored with Dylusions ink spray.  Love the patterns that emerged!  The “trees” were a “fail”, which I had to work with.  I tried to use some iron-on images by Donna Downey, but they wouldn’t stick so I cut them out and added some dimensional paints.  “2013″ is made with Thickers, over a Prima die cut sprayed with Dylusions.

So, that’s all for now.  What do you think?  I love comments, so please  let me know  you were here.  Thanks so much for stopping by!

 

FebPL

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fluffyash
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 17:32:27

    It’s absolutely beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Pia
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 01:24:12

    Thanks for sharing your process. I had no idea until this minute why I’d ever want molding paste!

    Reply

  3. Maaret
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 02:49:14

    Looks just fabulous!!! So much went into it!!!

    Reply

  4. Ruthanne Parker
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 08:47:40

    My fiber arts group meets today, or I would be in my room playing. Just love what you have done and I have a lot of those supplies!

    Reply

  5. Gloria Gerlich Garrett
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 11:32:21

    Love the colors and layers….so visually interesting. Thanks for sharing, Kim, it inspires the rest of us.

    Reply

  6. Gulfsprite
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 20:15:30

    This cover is beautiful, and I am especially drawn to the colors and the round raised texture. Love this!

    Reply

  7. dragonriding
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 11:26:41

    Inspirational Kim……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

