Zentangle-Inspired – Art Journaling Video!

I decided I wanted to make an art journal spread, and record it, for future use in my art journaling videos.  It’s basically a spread with my blog information on it.  Just an excuse to play in my journal, really.  And, I wanted to start using my pre-prepared journal spreads.  I often just do backgrounds, because they are easy and mindless, basically.  But I often don’t like the results, so I never end up completing it.  This one started with some Golden mediums that I wanted to try.  I did it so long ago, I can’t recall exactly what I did, but I know I started out with gesso on the left side page, and Golden pastel ground on the other side.  I then layered ink sprays and paint, and alcohol inks.  It turned into kind of a hot mess.  I’m not crazy about pink, either, so the color just didn’t inspire me until today.  I actually ended up liking the end result! 

The zentangle-inspired dangles were inspired by  Joanne Fink’s technique – more details on her blog – www.zenspirations.com

KB full spread KB1 KB2 KB3 KB4 KB5 KB6

Product List:

  • Golden Gesso and Ground
  • Dylusions ink sprays
  • Doodling pens – Faber-Castell PITT artist pen, Sharpie paint pens, Montana acrylic paint marker, Sakura gel pens, Uni-ball Vision black waterproof pen
  • Unknown washi tapes
  • Heidi Swapp (discontinued) letter masks
  • Pan Pastel in black
  • Krylon Workable Fixative
  • Black acrylic paint (watered down for splats)

And, here’s the video:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Terry Butler
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 17:18:01

    Love the colors with the black and white tape and doodles!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

