Stencils, Stencils, I Love Stencils!

Stencils are the new stickers. For the longest time, stencils were boring, dated, and passe. But recently, new, improved, and totally hip stencils have been hitting the market. I found iStencils.com on Youtube, and ordered some immediately!

Here’s a little bit about iStencils from the website:

“We have the greatest selection of stencils for home decor, custom clothing, crafts, and more. iStencils collection of stencils includes over 2,600 designs…ranging from trendy wall stencils to exclusive airbrush stencil designs. All of our stencils are available in a range of sizes from 5×5 up to 36×36, & with prices starting at $4.99 they’re perfect for your next project.

iStencils stencil collection includes designs and artwork from several artists all over the world.

We are working with artists and designers world-wide to bring you the largest comprehensive stencil catalog. Whether you are looking for classic designs in damask stencils, craft stencils, popular alphabet stencil sets or latest in DIY home decor…you’re sure to find what you are looking for at iStencils!

 

Stenciling with iStencils stencils is fun, easy & inexpensive.

Regardless if you’re a beginner or an expert, iStencils makes stenciling effortless. All of our stencils are made from durable (yet highly flexible) 7 mil mylar which is strong enough to use again and again, but thin enough to achieve incredible detail wherever you choose to stencil. All of our stencils are reusable, easy to clean, solvent proof and with proper care, will last a lifetime.”

As noted above,  the base price is just $4.99 USD for the smallest size. Considering how often- and with so many different materials- you can use these stencils with, I think it’s a fair price. I love the 8×8 format- which is great for using in my art journal.  However, the larger 11″ x 11″ is fabulous for using on the 8″x10″ Gelli Arts gelli plate.

Here’s a video of me playing with my stencils on my gelli plate.

So now it’s time to disclose- I got samples for review.  But my opinions are honest and my own- I wouldn’t say I liked them if I didn’t. And frankly, I would refuse advertising to any product that I felt was sub-standard. So there it is.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:31:04

    These are really pretty, what do you do with them!

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 14:23:23

      Jackie, I have been using my prints in my art journals. The deli paper prints are excellent for covering a book cover, or in collage, because the deli paper is translucent. The thicker papers are excellent as a background in my art journals. I have seen lots of different uses for them, though – people use them as scrapbook paper, punched or die cut shapes can be used on cards.

      Reply

  2. Trish Johnston
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 20:03:34

    Hi Kim: Cool video. What are the advantages of deli wrap paper over papers designed for printmaking?

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 14:19:58

      Hi Trish! Thanks for the question. Printmaking paper is much thicker than deli paper. I like the way deli paper is almost transparent – I guess it’s translucent, which makes it excellent for collage, and for layering in my art journal. Printmaking paper is a stand-alone, and can be used as your pages in a journal. Deli paper would be too thin for that. I hope that helps! Oh, and deli paper is REALLY cheap!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

