Video – Australia Travel Journal Flip

I’ve been home from Australia for five days.  I’m still suffering from jet lag.  The time difference (Australia is 17 hours ahead of me) – almost a whole day – is a killer.  Both my hubby and I have been waking up at 3 am every night.  I can’t seem to get back to sleep for at least a couple of hours.  Then I sleep late, but I’m still tired, so I nap during the day.  I try hard to stay awake, but it’s so difficult!  So, last night, I stayed up until 2 am, and slept until 10:00.  8 hours.  That should be good, but I am still tired.  Oh well…I am sure I will recover eventually.  If not, I’ll have to go back to Australia!  lol.

Irecorded a video of a “flip through” my Australia travel journal.  I have kept travel journals before, but this one is the best one yet.  I was so diligent about adding to it daily.  Some days I didn’t feel much like it, but I did it anyway.  I’m so happy with the result.  It’s thick, and heavy, and filled with memories.  I love it.  I started with a plain, kraft covered Moleskine journal with lined pages.  The paper is extremely thin, so I often glued two pages together, and added washi tape down the side to keep the pages from coming apart.  It is 7 1/4″ x 9 3/4″.  I found it to be a perfect size for this trip.  It was a bit big to carry around, but I made it work.  This vacation was a dream vacation, and I didn’t want to forget a minute of it.  We were there for 25 glorious days.  If you would like to see some photos of our journey, click back through previous blog posts.

I got the idea for the washi tape and the tabs across the top from “The Documented Life Project”.  This is a free group facilitated by five artists who collectively host this year-long challenge.  It’s basically an altered day planner, with weekly prompts to keep you inspired.  They have an active Facebook group, as well as a blog.  I took the basic concept and applied it to my travel journal.

Here’s the video:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fatima
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 17:32:49

    Thanks for sharing your travel journal flip! I have no idea how you got something to look so wonderful and well-put together *while* traveling… but I really enjoyed being able to see the finished product.

    I love the chaos and randomness of art journals, but I also love the focus and cohesiveness of something like this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

