I’m a Busy Gal! My Thoughts on Taking Online Classes

I know I haven’t blogged in a while, but I do plan to change that!  *best laid plans* lol  I have actually made a video….well, it’s about 90% complete.  I recorded a journal flip, followed by some art journaling, but the page evolved into something that I really don’t like.  I know….it’s about the process, so I should post it anyway, right?  Okay.  I’ll either finish it and post the completed video, or I’ll post what I have….what would YOU like?  Leave me a message, and I’ll go with the majority.

So, I thought I would share my thoughts on taking online classes.  I’m taking quite a few at the moment, and I think I may have over-committed myself.  When I do that, I seem to get kind of “stuck”.  It’s like, if I can’t do it all, I won’t do anything at all.  Does that make any sense?  I think it’s the perfectionist in me.  If I can’t do it 100%, then I don’t want to do it all.  It’s like I’ve failed if I only do some of the lessons.  I really have to get over that!  Is anyone else like me?  I’m sure I can’t be the only one who thinks like this.  So, here we go – I’m a little ashamed to post this, but maybe it will motivate me.  Once I “put it out there”, sometimes it helps me to feel accountable?  Does that make sense?  Here goes:

 I’m taking my friend, Effy Wild’s class – Moonshine, which is all about (for me) – painting faces.  But, I have not done even one lesson yet *blush*.  I MUST change that!  It’s not because I’m not inspired by her, (*waving*  Love and Glitter, Effy!) – I just seem to get into this mode of watching others create, but not really doing much myself.  

I signed up (late) for Lifebook, with Tam (Willowing) – but have not done even one lesson yet!  That’s what I did in 2012, too.  For that very reason, I didn’t sign up in 2013. I swore this year would be different!  And, it will, damn it!  ;)  Again, I have watched ALL the videos….but not done a single one.  :(

I’m also taking the live version of Jane Davenport’s “Express Yourself” class.  I took this class a couple of years ago, so it was time for a refresher.  I’ve been drawing and painting faces with Jane!  :)  Yay me!  That was one of my goals for this year.  I can draw faces (if I say so myself), but I haven’t really gotten the hang of painting them.  For some reason, it seems “easier” to do this class, because I’ve done it before. AND, I had the pleasure of meeting Jane in Australia in January!  She is so awesome.  Such a fabulous person, and a VERY talented artist.  *waving*  Hi Jane!!!  Oh, and hi to Orly Avineri (who taught the class), and to Tracy Verdugo (who hosted the class), and to the other Aussie ladies whose names I forgot to get before the class ended.

And, lastly (for now) I am also participating in the Documented Life Project.  This is a free class (unless you take the optional $12.00 class which teaches you how to alter the Moleskine planner).  I haven’t really been doing all of the prompts, but I have been using my planner, so that counts, right?  ;)

I joined The Artstronauts Club – a group with Tracy and Teesha Moore.  This is a much different type of class – it’s not really a class, it’s just a private, hosted website with inspiration videos, downloads, and such.  You pay a monthly fee to have access to whatever gets posted, and they are very generous with sharing their ideas and skills.  I love Teesha’s art journaling style.  I am proud to say that I have actually done a couple of journal pages in her signature style (with my own twist, of course).  I do plan to share them when I get a chance to photograph them.

There are so many classes available now!  I want to join them all, but obviously that’s silly lol.  (is it?)  I would love to hear your thoughts on any classes you are participating in!  PLEASE leave me a comment.  I really do want you to!

But, for now, I’m going to go make some art.  REALLY!  I am going to make some art.  Watch me… ;)

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Reed
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 14:58:29

    I am so glad that someone has addressed the topic of online classes because this is something that I have been looking into for about a year now. And how lucky that you got to take a class with Orly! I have purchased quite a few online classes from the Interweave store, but haven’t participated in any of the interactive ones you’ve mentioned in your post, which are the exact same ones I’ve been investigating. I’m guilty of doing the exact same thing though…spending all my time watching and not creating and then I wonder how I only got one or two projects done in a months time! And post your video whenever you’re ready, I like it all…the good, the bad, the ugly, the finished, the unfinished…of course this is back to the reason I am not very productive in my own art (watching others…ha!).

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 16:26:12

      You are most welcome, Kim! I guess that’s why I decided to blog about this. I was so hoping I wasn’t the only one in the world doing this lol.

      Reply

  2. Heidi
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 15:07:55

    OMG! I am soooooo glad you wrote this. I am in the same boat. Now I don’t feel so bad (there is some one else out there like me). Thanks, Kim!

    Reply

  3. Kim G
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 16:49:26

    Sigh. I understand. I am more of a crafter than an artist but sometimes I think I’m more of an arts & crafts “curator” than anything else. I collect tools, take online classes, watch demos and have a whole lot of information in my head that doesn’t translate into any finished work. But SOMEDAY…….

    Reply

  4. janedangerdavenport
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 16:51:55

    waving back Kim!

    Reply

  5. freebirdsings
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 20:34:17

    I have 11 classes on my list currently. Two are getting ready to start, one is more of a mentoring where I get an email each week to think about (and do something which I haven’t) and the others are classes for painting and journaling. I haven’t done but a bit on any. I’ve never been quite this bad before but I was needing some direction and everything suddenly looked good! I haven’t signed up for a couple more simply because I’ve realized I jumped in to too many!

    Timaree

    Reply

  6. j.ajabad
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 21:17:43

    You could also paint or collage over the page. I often do that if I really dislike a page in my art journal.

    The Documented Life is a class? I post my planner pages to their flickr group. I have more blank pages than completed pages but it has been so much fun. I’ve been a bit more creative and productive because of the project! That’s always.

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 01:24:54

      OMG I am laughing about this comment! Wait until you see the video…I may have already collaged and/or painted over it…maybe even more than once…but I am not admitting to anything…hehehe…good thing I know how to edit videos…

      Reply

  7. Jackie Beeman
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 00:36:33

    Oh, my gosh, my head is exploding with Facebook and classes! I want to learn to blog, so I can put what I’m working on. I have signed up for life book, soul food, studying under the masters, Jane Davenports classes, JoAnne Sharpes class, Kat McBrides, Karen Milstein, Effys BOD, DLP, gritty Janes 40 face challenge, 29 face challenge, last month. What do I make…..VERY LITTLE, that’s what!😁 I love watching all the videos, but then there’s no time to create. Humm, maybe an intervention would help? Oh, yeah and I paid for the year with Julie-Fei Fan Balzers how to videos, and Teesha Moores Atrtstraunant (spelling) HELP ME!

    Reply

  8. Katherine Gale
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 16:08:54

    I am definitely in the same club with you all! Too many wonderful classes….to be honest, I’ve kind of lost track. Now that’s bad. Have been doing the odd page but haven’t kept up my two blogs…. and keep away from FB groups as it drains the little time I have left. I am signed up for several Face classes and have no problem drawing the face but am still struggling with shading. I guess it is just practice but I need to get serious and sit down to do it! I still haven’t done a page in the beautiful journal you sent to me. I’m saving it for when I get good……..ahaha! Distractions and learning keep me from doing. Aaargh!

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Mar 07, 2014 @ 16:22:44

      Thank you, Katherine, for the comment, and for helping me to feel a little better about the fact that I just seem to be an art class creeper. lol I would LOVE to see your work in the journal I sent you! I don’t even remember what it looks like lol.

      Reply

  9. wfm5121954
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 01:38:18

    No mention of Christy Sobolewski ! You have gotta change that my blushing beauty.

    Reply

  10. kimmer
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 02:01:52

    That is only because I am not currently taking any of Christy’s classes! She is an awesome teacher, tho…I highly recommend her art journaling classes. I have made several Youtube videos based on Christy’s classes!

    Reply

  11. Patricia LaCroix
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 09:21:16

    That’s not too bad Kim! I have a few more than that ongoing myself this year – even while I said in January that I was going to really limit how many classes I took!

    I did the same with Lifebook and Effy’s live Book of Days last year, and with Studying Under the Masters this year (thank GOD I have 2 years to tackle that one!). I couldn’t resist taking 2 more of Jane’s classes too when I had some extra cash in the budget lol

    I think writing the classes down gives you a great perspective on what you actually have going on, and since I can only do one or two classes at most every week – what with life happening and all – I’m much easier on myself about not getting them all done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

