Another Abstract

People say ‘Are you trying to be abstract?’ thinking then that they know what you are doing though, of course, they don’t understand what the devil it is all about. They think that abstraction means getting away from reality and it often means precisely the opposite — that you are getting closer to it, away from a visual interpretation but nearer to an emotional understanding.Henry Moore

 

I completed this painting a few weeks ago, and was letting it sit in my studio, so that I could decide if it was finished.  It is.  This piece was inspired by Karine Swenson’s recent course, “Intro to Abstract Painting“, which is now available as a self-study course here.  This class really helped me to get out of my own head, and let loose and just fling paint.  I loved it.

To start, I did a bunch of  little water color “sketches” to inspire me, and give me a place to start.  This is my little sketch (it’s 4″ x 4″), with the finished piece – acrylic and mixed media(24″ x 24″):

inspiration yellow mellowmyfinished

I started with some texture, using various acrylic textural products, and let that dry.  Then, I started flinging paint, using various acrylic paint products, and mark-making tools.  Here are a few in-progress photos:

my2

my1my3

And, the finished painting, with a couple of detail shots:

myfinisheddetail2

detailmy

What do you think?  My husband likes it, and even thinks it is worthy of hanging in our new home.  :)

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice kiick
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 12:36:37

    Lovely lively I likely.

    Reply

  2. Karine Swenson
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 14:32:39

    Wow! It’s great, Kim! I am so glad you took the class and managed to benefit from the exercises. Congratulations.

    Reply

  3. Kim Reed
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 18:18:12

    Your husband is right, but I think it would look better on my wall instead (ha!). You are becoming a true ar”tee”st, Kim, and it has been a pleasure watching your progress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

