Hello world!

I have finally entered the Weblog world!  🙂  I was inspired by my many online friends, whose blogs are absolutely fabulous, and so much fun to visit.  Thank you to Carla, who helped me get this blog set up.  Carla is a Design Team member over at Lil Scrappers,( http://www.lilscrappers.ca/ )and one talented lady!  Visit her blog here: http://moralia.wordpress.com/ 

 I would also like to add a special mention, (and note of admiration and appreciation), to my niece, Michelle, aka Michy, who introduced me to the online world of scrapbooking, cardmaking, and blogging.  She is SO incredibly talented, and inspiring.  Please do take some time to visit her blog here:  http://michelledobbyn.blogspot.com/  Michelle’s work has recently been published in the Scrapbook Trends “Weddings” Idea Book!  Congratulations, Michelle! 

 Last, but certainly not least, another one of my dearests stamping friends, Corinne, AKA Roxy is a Stampin’ Up demonstrator, and one talented individual.  When you have some time, (and you will need some time!  It’s so awesome!) – do visit her blog.  She has a number of tutorials, including video tutorials, which are sure to inspire your creativity!  http://www.stampingwithroxy.typepad.com/  She recently had one of her tutorials featured on Splitcoast Stampers’ website:  http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/  Congratulations, Corinne!

So, let’s get to it!  I’m currently working on a scrapbook of my Christmas vacation in Jamaica.  We went to this fabulous resort – Grand Lido, in Negril, for two glorious weeks.  It was our first time away from home on Christmas day, and I have to say, we LOVED it!  So, here’s the first few pages of my album:

First, the cover page.  I’m using Basic Grey’s Figgy Pudding line, which is their Christmas paper.  I wasn’t sure how it would look for a beach-themed album, but, so far, so good.  The album is 9×9, which I am finding to be a bit of a challenge.  I’ve had to resize and/or crop a lot of photos to fit.  I generally like to put more than one photo on a page, so this is proving to be a bit of a challenge.  So many photos….so little time!  lol

 

For the inside of the front cover, I just had fun using up some of my stash, and did a crazy collage.  The central photo is what I had planned to use on my cover…but changed my mind.  😉  I also scanned a bunch of post cards, and ephemera, and resized everything to fit it all on one page.  We went for a long walk along the beach on Christmas day (how cool is that?)  Along the way, I stopped and wrote in the sand, and took some photos of it. 

This is “our beach”.  So beautiful!

 

A 2-pager – highlighting the grounds of the resort.  We stayed at Grand Lido, in Negril, Jaimaica.  It was such a gorgeous setting – very lush, with tons of huge trees.  The tree in the centre of the resort was absolutely spectacular!  I have no idea how old it would have to be….?  I couldn’t fit the whole thing in one photo!  My title, “Irie” is a Jamaican  term, for “it’s all good”!  Two of the photos on the right page were taken from our room, and the third one is the entrance to the spa.

 

Another 2-pager – my hubby and I.

 

My Happy Place – I did this layout for a L/O tag challenge.

My Happy Place

 

Well, I think that’s all for now.  Thanks for stopping by!  Please leave me a comment, so I know you were here!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Dobbyn
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 18:45:28

    Welcome to blogger world Kim!! Looking good so far!! :]

    Reply

  2. moralia
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 18:46:35

    Lookin’ good Kim!!! 🙂 Beautiful LO’s!! Glad I could help!

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 17:19:51

    Very cool, my friend — that is the blog and your layouts. Kudos!

    Reply

  4. Corinne
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 13:30:25

    You could spend hours looking at your scrapbook pages !! They’re truly fantastic and the colours are absolutely gorgeous !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

