A card, a couple of mini-books, and my version of a Clip-it-up

Hello World!  I was able to finish a couple of projects yesterday.  I made my first-ever Sympathy card, a mini-album (to store cards I receive this year), and my own version of a “clip-it-up”!

The card was based on a challenge over at Lil Scrappers – to use a photograph on a card.  I used a photo of a rose that I took last summer, and converted it to black and white.  I printed it on matte cardstock, which gave it a nice, soft look.  I’m not thrilled with this photo of the card, tho.  It looks much better IRL.

Sympathy Card

I also made a mini-book (I guess that’s what I would call it!) – to keep cards that I receive in.  I’ve always hated throwing away cards, and now that I often receive hand made cards, I just couldn’t throw them away!  So, I made one for my 2007 Christmas cards, and another one for 2008 cards.  They are 6 1/2″ by 10″.  I made the covers with chipboard, embellished with pp (Stampin’ up on the 2008 card album, and I think the Christmas pp is Doodlebug?).  I punched three holes with my Cropadile, and voila!  Add a little ribbon to the book rings, and I think it turned out okay.

AND…I’m super excited about this!  I made my own version of a Clip-it-up!  I got the idea here: 

 http://scrapbookclubhouse.typepad.com/weblog/2008/01/just-a-little-b.html

It’s made with a stand-alone paper towel holder, (from Dollarama) – and three 1 1/2″ book rings (Staples).  I put a piece of cardstock in each page protector (for stabilization).  I also put some “page turners” between the page protectors, for additional stabilitation, (and to clip smaller items to them).  (I puchased them from Staples, too – in a pkg of 10 for $3!).  I’m storing all my rub-on and sticker letters in it.  TFL!  😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corinne
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 16:55:12

    Your Christmas books are amazing !!! LOVE IT !!! See ya Tuesday 🙂

    Reply

  2. Michele Kovack
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 17:40:16

    That is so cool!!!! Love that idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

