Sheetload of Cards!

I took a little break from scrapbooking after making four gift ALBUMS.  Frankly, I was a little burnt out (of scrapbooking).  It took me months to complete.  But, the results are fabulous (if I may say so myself!).  So, I was determined to make some cards this week, but just could NOT find my mojo.  I kept procrastinating, and kept getting distracted by other things – you know the drill – surfing the net, visiting blogs, online shopping, yadda yadda.  You know the drill, right?  So, anyway…the reason why I’m babbling about this?  I have two very dear and talented friends (well, one of them is my niece) who design for Sheetload of Cards.  This is an online cardmaking ezine.  (see link over on the right side of my blog).  Each month, they offer a new sketch, and give you simple to follow, downloadable instructions, showing you how to make 20 cards with minimal supplies, and time.  So, I thought I’d give it a try this month, since I needed to complete 10 cards for a swap I’m in over at Lil’ Scrappers.  (Both of the previously mentioned designers – Carla and Michy – also design for Lil’ Scrappers)!  (see link to Carla’s and Michy’s blogs, and Lil’ Scrappers on the right side of my blog).  Boy, I’m plugging a lot of people/sites today, aren’t I?  I do not work for any of them…I only mention them because I want to share my story, in the hopes that, if you lose your mojo, this might work for you, too!  😉 

Here’s 5 of the 10 cards I made, using the June issue of Sheetload of Cards.  They are sympathy cards, which I find very challenging to make.  I generally love bright, fun colours, which, obviously, don’t work well on a sympathy card.  As you can see, using the exact same layout/sketch, and double-sided paper from Autumn Leaves, I was able to make 5 cards…each one unique.

Here’s a close-up of one of them.  On this version, I used SU kraft paper for the background of the Stampendous stamped image.  I stamped it with Versamark ink, and embossed it using this new “holographic” embossing powder by Ranger.  Then, I coloured the flowers using a white Sigma gel pen.  The ribbon is by May Arts, and the brads are SU.  Let me know what you think.  I hope the little bit of bling isn’t too much for a sympathy card.

One more thing…I nominated myself (LOL) – for a guest DT spot over at Sheetload of Cards.  If all my fans would support me on this endeavour, I would be forever grateful!  😉  All you have to do is click on over to Sheetload of Cards, and follow (the lovely and uber talented Alicia’s) instructions.  Thanks so much for stopping by, and have a wonderful day!  Check back later, as I will be posting some more info about the additional goodies I will be offering to my blog candy.  Oh, and you can use today’s cards as inspiration if you wish, to give yourself a chance to win some fun stuff.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. martha
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 15:22:54

    I’m loving Sheetload even since I found them.

    Great cards btw.

    Reply

  2. craftylyra
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 17:45:42

    I love your cards, and no, I don’t think the bling is too much. Beauty is very comforting and you chose good colors.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Dobbyn
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 21:45:01

    Hey!!! teeheehee … thats me your talking about!!! :] Thanks for saying all those nice things …. your check is in the mail 😉 LOL. I really like those cards!!! Wonderful work here Kim!!

    Reply

  4. Deanne Burton
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 14:19:04

    In thsi post there is a card called “Wishing You…” It was inspired by the cards in this thread. I just flipped my card :O)

    http://a-scrapaddict.blogspot.com/2008/06/couple-of-cards.html

    Reply

  5. Deanne Burton
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 15:01:00

    I posted here yesterday that I did a card using your as inspiration.But it seems my comments aren’t going through.
    My card can be found here:
    http://a-scrapaddict.blogspot.com/2008/06/couple-of-cards.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

