Q&A Monday – Masculine card with Glimmer Mist!

I’m starting a weekly Q&A day, to answer questions that I receive, either through email, comments on my blog, or through Sheila (www.scrappingreatdeals.com).  We’ve had a few enquiries about how to use Glimmer Mist, and I have also been challenged to create a masculine card, using my new Penny Black “Dash” stamp.  So, I thought I’d combine the two, and see what I could come up with.

So, I have two colours of Glimmer Mist – “coffee”, and “silver”.  For this tutorial, I’m using “coffee”.  If you are not familiar with this product, it is made by a company called “Tattered Angels”.  Here’s a link to their website, which offers some tips & techcniques on using this stuff. http://mytatteredangels.com/ In my experience, the effect is subtle – and not anything like any other product I have ever used.  Nothing like Stickles!  If you want a dramatic, sparkle you’ll want to chose another product.  It’s also difficult to capture the effect on camera, so these photos will not really give you a true picture of what it looks like irl.

So, I started by chosing my patterned paper (Stampin’ up), and cs (also Stampin’ up), and a Bazzill chipboard star, and Bazzill “just the edge” cardstock.  I stamped my image with SU Basic brown ink.

As you can see, the orange Bazzill cs is much to bright for the pp.  So, I sprayed it with Glimmer Mist.  I protected my work surface with a Ranger non-stick craft mat (you can also use wax paper).  As you can see, it beads up on the craft pad, so I took my chipboard star, and a piece of the patterned paper, and rubbed it in the excess glimmer mist.  I’m a little impatient, so I used my heat gun to speed up the drying time.  There is quite a difference between how it looks wet, compared how it looks once it dries.  I also dragged the edge of my off-white cs with the image on it, through the glimmer mist, which gave it a pretty cool look.

This next photo shows how the orange cs looked without GM, and after it had dried:

My original plan was to use both stars on the card – one sprayed with Glimmer Mist, and the other covered with the pp that I sprayed with GM…but, I didn’t really like both stars on the card, so I ended up using only one – the one I covered with the misted pp.  I added a circular stamped sentiment, and a button from my stash, and a piece of hemp string, tied in a bow.

I distressed all edges with sandpaper, and the Heidi Swapp distressing tool, and stitched the pp to the cs.  I popped the star with a large pop dot.  Finally, I coloured the stamped image, using Prismacolour markers, and odourless paint thinner – a technique I learned from Carla – one of the DT members at Lil’ Scrappers.  If you want a link to the tutorial, let me know.  She has one posted on one of the discussion threads, that I can certainly find for you, if you can’t locate it.  YOu’ll need to register with Lil’ Scrappers first, if you haven’t done so already.

So, here’s my finished card:

Here’s another card I made a while ago – sprayed the flower with Glimmer Mist.

 

So…get yourself some Glimmer Mist, or dig it out if you already have some, and PLAY with it!  Have fun!  If you have any questions, please feel free to either post your question in the comments section, or email me.  I’d be happy to help you out if I can!  Thanks for stopping by!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Terria
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 18:05:01

    I think this card turned out great , I will have to try this for my guy cards soon! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

