I am on to the FINAL ROUND!

I am so excited, I can hardly type!  lol  I am in the final round of the Lil’ Scrappers Big Summer Win Contest!  There are only THREE of us left…and we are anxiously awaiting the details of the final challenge!  In the meantime, I can post my creation that got me this far!  This was the challenge:  Create a layout, using this sketch as inspiration:

Sounds easy peasy so far, right?  *NOT*  Here are the additional challenges:

#2. PAGE THEME: ABSTRACT

#3. Minimum of 4 different patterns visible on page (not necessarily pattern paper)

#4. “REMOVABLE” OR “EXTENDABLE” page item.

So, here is what I came up with:

 

When I read the details of this challenge, I knew almost immediately what pictures I was going to use for this “abstract” layout. My DH and I were in Vancouver in 2006, and went on a long cycling trip from Granville Island to Stanley Park. One of the pictures I took (of an upside-down house) stood out in my mind – given the abstract quality of this sculpture, as well as many other abstract architechtural landmarks along the way. To give the photo even more of an abstract look, I altered it in Photoshop.I think of “abstract” as blocks of bold-coloured, “wonky” shapes, that could look like one thing to me, but something else to someone else (that made sense in my head!). I also think of “chaotic” (as Alicia said in her post). But…the DT…in their wisdom…made us use FOUR PATTERNS in our ABSTRACT layout. YIKES. If I was able to, I would have used all solid colours – no patterns at all! Anyway, I think it all came together and I guess it looks abstract…in my head, anyway! lol Creative interpretation…that’s what I call it! Very Happy

I printed several copies of my photo-shopped photo, and used them as “patterns” – covered the chipboard arrows, and a couple of the chipboard “wonky” stars with it. I also added a block of my homemade patterned paper behind the main photo.

I love to sew on my projects, and initially thought sewing would not be in keeping with the abstract theme. But, I had to be me…so, I sewed all over in a chaotic, geometric way…kind of abstract, don’t you think? I also repeated the “house” shape (chipboard arrows, arrow photo turns, the upside down house under the “flip” sentiment). I wanted the stars to be wonky, not perfect, so these Bazzill chipboard stars worked perfectly. The title is from a TV show by that name. The circles are actually brads, but I backed them with patterned paper, added stickles and dimensional adhesive, and pop-dotted a few of them. I thought the doodled flower rubons on the stars were kind of abstract, too…and added another pattern to my layout.

The gatefold card was my way of adding something expandable – it’s tough to see in the photo, but I cut out the house, and a corner of the tree, and popped it up with pop dots to give it an abstract/dimensional look. Then, I added dimensional glaze around the edge of the house, and the circle of Heidi Swapp green bling draws attention to the house. Inside the gatefold card, is the original (non-photoshopped) – photo.

 

So, that’s it for now…stay tuned!  🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftylyra
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:02:15

    Congratulations, Kim! This is a great layout! I’m rooting for you!

    Reply

  2. Jacqueline
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 22:04:41

    That is so cool!! No wonder you made it to the top three! Can’t wait to see what you do next!

    Reply

  3. bunnyb
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 00:31:53

    Wow!! Congrats, Kim!! I really hope you win the grand prize!!! xxx

    Reply

  4. Terria
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 10:36:14

    Alright Kim the final round I am so excited for you. Your layout is just awesome I love colors and you have so great details.

    Reply

  5. Bela
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 12:21:10

    Hey Kim: I was on Scrappin Great Deals and there you were. Wow is that ever a coincidence. Anyway, dropping you a line to say that I am cheering for you. Your creativity is just amazing and you have rocked each challenge so far. Way to go and good luck.
    Bela

    Reply

  6. Pat S.
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:04:14

    How fabulous…congratulations on going to the finals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

