Prismacolour & Odorless Mineral Spirits Tutorial

First, I want to let everyone know that my blog candy (posted yesterday) is still available!  I’ll be doing the draw tonight about 9 pm!  So, if you haven’t done so already, please leave me a comment…let me know what topics you would like to know more about (aka tutorial)!

In the meantime, why re-invent the wheel?  My good friend, Carla, whose blog is a constant source of inspiration for me — (http://moralia.wordpress.com/2008/08/25/) — put together an awesome tutorial a while back, and has given me permission to post it on my blog.  Also, if you’re interested in other tutorials on all kinds of scrapping topics, check out this thread over at Lil’Scrappers:

http://www.lilscrappers.ca/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=564     (if you haven’t already done so, you will need to register to view the forum…it’s worth a few minutes of your time, tho, trust me!)

So, here is the tutorial:

This is a fun and easy way to colour in stamped images and get amazing results each and every time!!!

Supply List:

* *Prismacolor® Premiere Pencils, Stampin’ Up pencil Crayons or other wax-based colored pencils -You can find these at Micheals, or any High Quality Art store. They can be pricey, but a great investment, and come in sets from 12 -120. (*NOTE: Watercolour pencils will not work for this technique, they must be waterproof and wax based).

*Blending stumps in various sizes

*Gamsol or other artist-grade odorless mineral spirits – This can be bought at a hardware store or Micheals, although the hardware store won’t be artist grade, it still works fine.

*Emery board or sanding block to sharpen stumps

*Soft white eraser

*Metal pencil sharpener

*Outline stamped image stamped with dye based ink. Staz on, etc.. works best!

Directions:

Firstly, choose your colours to match your paper. I pulled my colours directly out of the colours of the K&Co. paper. So when it’s finished, the image matches perfectly with my completed card!

Step 1: Take your outline stamped image and start outlining the image with a thick line on larger parts, and a thin line on smaller parts as shown…

NOTE: Be sure to sharpen your stump after switching colours.. you want to remove all the colour on your stump before moving on. It’s best to sharpen your stump to a point each time.

Continue with this until your entire image is outlined…

Step 2: Dip your blending stump into the gamsol (Careful not to spill it all over your table like I have before.. Rolling Eyes ) You want to begin with the lighter colours, pulling the colour from the line you drew to the center of your image using small circles.

Step 3: Continue on with this until you have blended the entire image.

*Tip 1* After it’s done, you can take the clean white eraser to make some highlights, if desired.

*Tip 2* If you’d like to make your image pop a bit more, you can take a colour and colour around your image, then blend as shown.

After the image is complete, put your card together, and voila! Very Happy

Here is also a YouTube video I found on this technique for you also… hope it helps!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4912926818455764703

Thanks, Carla, for the awesome tutorial.  AND, thank you to everyone who visits my blog regularly.  It makes me smile every time I get a comment!  😀

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bunnyb
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 12:03:58

    Your tutorial is lovely, just like Carla’s! 🙂 That’s sooo cute! Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

  2. Terria
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 14:32:56

    Thank you for sharing Kim I find this tutorial easy to redo on my own thanks.T

    Reply

  3. luv2scrap76
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 23:01:19

    So cool, I have the pencils and have been using baby oil. I think I’m going to get some OMS and give it another try. Thanks for sharing.
    Sarah

    Reply

  4. Michelle H
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 07:50:01

    OMG! Thank you for this great tutorial! I am trying to buck my coloring up a notch and this so helps!! Now I need one for the Prismacolor markers and I’m set! LOL! Thanks again!!

    Reply

  5. paula
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 15:08:24

    Hi Kim Thank you so much for visiting my blog and your fab tutorial! Its brilliant and answers a couple of questions for me…I think baby oil is ok but will try the gamasol. Thank you again…and now Im going to print this tut out for safe keeping!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

