I Took Home the Silver! & a SKETCH CHALLENGE!

Well, the Big Summer Win Contest over at Lil’ Scrappers is complete…I didn’t get the gold, but I brought home the silver!  Although, of course, I was going for the gold, I am happy with the silver.  Sheri, who won the contest is a super talented lady, and really ROCKED the final challenge.  Her creation was absolutely stunning!  Way to go, Sheri!  Congratulations!  This was the first scrapbooking contest I have ever entered, so I am pleased with my results.  The “theme” of this summer-long contest was “personal growth”, and “creativity”.  I feel that I definitely grew as a person, and as a scrapbooker, and stretched my creative muscles in a big, big way.  I’d like to extend a sincere “thank you” to everyone who left me encouraging comments on my blog, and to all the other participants in the contest, who all created some absolutely gorgeous work.  Most of all, I want to thank the little people…lol….(had to throw in some humour!) – seriously – I want to thank the DT over at Lil’ Scrappers.  I can only imagine how difficult it must have been for them to judge all the creations, and to chose the ultimate winner. 

So…do you want to see my silver medal creation?  Yes?  Okay then….since you insist…

The challenge was to create a framed piece, using one of three colour schemes, and incorporating one of three inspirational messages.  I thought it was funny that each of the 3 participants chose a different colour scheme, AND a different sentiment!

I had some difficulty photographing it, tho…it’s made of 3 layers of acrylic, with a chipboard frame. Each layer has been embellished, to give it dimension.The sentiment was formatted in Word, and then printed on a transparency. Difficult to read in the pics, I think…”A day without Laughter is a Day Wasted” — Charlie Chaplin. I chose the orange, blue, and yellow colour scheme.

 

The acrylic 6×6 sheets are from YMBD. The crystal swirl is Prima – “Say it in Crystals”. The acrylic butterfly and heart are Heidi Swapp. I painted the chipboard flower and wood dowel with a mixture of acrylic paint and white pearl Lumiere. I inked the frame with Ranger Distress inks, and then added some copper Pearl Effects powder. I made the little finials with two purchased beads, and made the white bead from polymer clay. The silver plated jewellery findings are by Beadalon. The beads were in my stash. My jewellery making skills, and tools came in handy.  🙂
 

 

 

I have had some requests for a sketch, so I put one together this morning, and thought I’d share it with you today! 

 

 

Here’s my card:

If you’d like to try it out…please do so, and leave me a comment, with a link to your creation.  I’d love to see what you come up with! 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqueline
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 10:42:31

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. Pat S.
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 11:30:55

    OMG! Your silver medal creation is just too fun! Look at all that BLING!!!
    Congratulations, Kim!!!

    Reply

  3. Jess
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 11:36:27

    Congrats on doing so well in the contest!

    Reply

  4. moralia
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 16:33:31

    *GORGEOUS* creation, Kim!!!! Your frame is stunning!! You did an amazing job with the contest and truly impressed us all!! WOW!

    I looooove your sketch, and your card.. well.. *DROOL*!! I’ll be back when I get a chance to play!! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Michelle Dobbyn
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 23:01:57

    Kim you did such an AWESOME job throughout this contest!!! Your work was all so creative and unique!!! Your last piece was stunning!!! I can’t wait to see it IRL!!! I’m so proud of you!!! Give are self a big pat on the back!!! :]

    Reply

  6. Corinne (aka Roxy)
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 07:56:56

    Wow, Kim !!! These are stunning !! I love all of them !!! Way to go !

    Reply

  7. Terria
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 22:54:03

    Woohoo Kim , Congratulation !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

