Letter Storage Ideas! Weekly Challenge! Blog Candy!

Hello all!  Happy Hump Day!  LOL  It’s c-c-c-cold outside today…brrrrrrr….can feel the chill in the air.  Fall is definitely here in Southwestern Ontario.

So, I thought I’d share my method of storing my extra letters.  I got so frustrated when I couldn’t find the letter(s) I needed for a layout or card, and decided I needed to find a method to store them so that I could find what I needed, WHEN I needed it.  I’m a visual scrapper, so I need to see it to use it.  So, I have TWO Clip-it-ups!  One for rubons, and stickers, and the other for sheets of letters – eg, rubons, or Thickers, etc.  I sort them by colour.

Then, I needed to find a way to store individual chipboard letters.  I keep them in the original packaging, until I open them.  Then, I sort the remainder of the package by letter, and store them in little plastic storage containers that I purchased at a dollar store.  I put them in a drawer…here’s a peek:

So…there you go!  It works for me.

I have some exciting news!  Sheila, at Scrappin’ Great Deals is going to be offering up gift certificates to the winners of my challenges!!!  “What challenges?”, you say???  Well….let me tell you!   As many of you already know, I am the Design Co-Ordinator for Scrappin’ Great Deals.  In addition to our brand new & exciting monthly kit program, I have also decided to post challenges, WITH PRIZES!  🙂  What better way to get inspired, than to have a chance to win some yummy goodies??? 🙂  So, my first challenge is to help you use up those extra letters you have in your stash!  Create something…anything at all, using some of your extra letters.  Some ideas for you:

  1. Use “xo” on a card
  2. Use a bunch of random letters as a background on a layout – would make a great “back to school” layout!
  3. Mix up letter styles for a funky title on a layout
  4. Use larger letters to make a personalized, monogrammed card for someone special
  5. Unify the different letters by either covering them with patterned paper/cardstock, inking or painting them, or dry embossing them!

So, here is what I came up with…I made this card a while ago, and have used this idea on more than one occasion.  For this card, I stitched the letters, and added a few brads here and there…

So………..now the yummy part!  You could win some blog candy from moi, AND, a $10.00 gift certificate, kindly donated by Sheila, at www.scrappingreatdeals.com!  All you have to do is either leave a comment with your idea(s) about using up those extra letters (it has to be a NEW idea – that I haven’t posted, or that another reader hasn’t shared in the comments on this blog post ). 

A second way to win – is to link me up to your creation using up your extra letters!  If you do both, you will get 2 chances to win!

Here’s a peek, but I’m not quite finished yet….I’ll be adding some more goodies…some buttons, bling, brads, and maybe even more!

So, use up those letters!  You’ll be glad you did!  AND, you could win this fabulous prize!  I will draw one name from all challenge participants, this Friday, October 24!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa V
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 09:54:41

    I would use up the extra letters on my son’s first day of school by spelling KINDERGARDEN on the page with different letter’s some letters my even be used backwards
    Lisa

    Reply

  2. Carol
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 17:47:46

    Hi Kim,

    How about using the extra letters to make up ABC mini-albums? There are so many ideas…kids’ books, ABC’s of papercrafting, ABC’s of MOMs, ABC’s of DADs, etc. You get the idea!

    Reply

  3. sena
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 03:58:08

    I’d use the letters to make a banner. 🙂 Paste the required letters on a triangle-shaped paper to make a banner!

    Reply

  4. bunny
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 04:17:04

    I’d use the letters to make a sign for the kids’ room, like their names.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

