Watercolor Tutorial!

Hello my friends!  Merry Christmas!  LOL It looks like Christmas here in Southwestern Ontario!  We woke up this morning to white white white!  TONS of snow fell overnight.  Awfully early for that, but it does look kind of festive! 

So, I thought I’d share a card tutorial, featuring a watercoloring technique.  I taught this at a card class at Scrappin’ Great Deals, and love the way it turned out.  I’ve been having so much fun with this technique!  It really isn’t that difficult.  Trust me…if I can do it, you can do it!  I used my Ranger Distress Ink pads, which you can purchase from Scrappin’ Great Deals, but any water-based dye ink will work.

To start, stamp your image with Stazon ink, on watercolor paper.  This is an important step.  If you don’t use Stazon ink, the stamped image will bleed when you add water.  I purchased my watercolor paper at Dollarama.  It probably isn’t artist quality or anything, but it certainly works for this technique.  This stamp is from High Hopes.  Scrappin’ Great Deals will be carrying High Hopes stamps VERY SOON!  AND, this cute Leo the Lion image is on order! 

 

 

 

Step 3

 

Step 4 (oops forgot to take a picture)

Using Walnut Stain ink, repeat same technique – around the lion’s face, the end of his tail, and the bottoms of his paws.

*NOTE* – before adding the black soot to his nose, ensure that the rest of the paint on the image is dry, otherwise the black will bleed into the image.  Not that it’s ever happened to me *whistle*.  lol

 

Now cut out your image, using detail scissors.

Card Assembly:

Supplies:

 

Þ              Card base – kraft cs 6” x 12”

Þ              Black cs 5 7/8” x 5 7/8”

Þ              2 pieces Patterned Paper 3 7/8” x 5 7/8”

Þ              1 piece Patterned Paper 5 7/8” x 5 7/8”

Þ              Stamped (High Hopes) Leo the Lion Images (I used Stazon ink on Watercolour paper)

Þ              Ranger Distress Ink in Scattered Straw, Tea Dye, Frayed Burlap, Walnut Stain, and Black Soot

Þ              Edge punch – (I used Martha Stewart Cornice)

Þ              4 co-ordinating brads

Þ              Cuttlebug and A2 Bird Call Embossing Folder

Þ              Sentiment stamp (High Hopes Leo and “Pawsing to Say Hello” sentiment)

Þ              Adhesives, foam dots

 

Instructions:

 

1.      Score and fold card base as follows:  Score at 3” and 6” and use gate fold technique as per sample.

2.      Using watercolour painting method, paint stamped image

3.      Allow painted image to dry and cut out

4.      Emboss pp using Cuttlebug, with A2 bird call embossing folder, and sand and distress embossed image, as desired

5.      Adhere Leo image with foam dots

6.      Assemble card – Adhere patterned paper pieces and brads as shown in sample. (distress & ink edges if desired)

7.      Stamp sentiment (Also from High Hopes – “Pawsing to Say Hello”)

There you go!   I used Basic Grey patterned paper, which has a white core, and is quite thick, so it sands and distresses quite nicely.  So, if you have any questions about this techqnique, please feel free to ask.  And, if you give it a try, please link me up to your creation…I would love to see it!  🙂  That’s it for today.  Tomorrow, I will be sharing some Christmas cards, and a sneak peek at November’s Scrappin’ Great Deals’ monthly kit!  *YUMMY*

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Nesplic
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:24:06

    Hi kim,

    Thanks for the tutorial. I loved making this card but will enjoy making thia at home even more as I will be able to take more time with the watercolouring. Thanks again for that Sat. everyone I show the cards to love them.

    Barb N.

    Reply

  2. Nancy F
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 13:59:59

    I really enjoyed your tutorial. Another way to use those pads is always a good thing. Thanks.

    Reply

  3. Terria
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 14:37:44

    thanks for the tutorial, I really love this technique. I also wish you could send the snow my way I saw pictures on Carla log I know you two are close so I can image the vview you had from your front door this morning 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

