My 2008 Favourites – Part 2

Hello my friends!  Happy Saturday!  What’s everyone doing today?  I’m continuing with my re-org of my craft room, which is coming along quite nicely!  My DH is home today, so I am going to enlist him to help me with some things that I can’t really do myself.

I had a question via email, from Amanda, who asked if Prismacolor markers are safe for scrapbooks.  I have some Prismacolor markers, which I loved until I got Copics.  lol  Prismas are similar to Copics, as they are alcohol-based.  They also come in a ton of colours, and are much more reasonably priced than Copics.  Here in Canada, Prisma markers are approximately $2-$3 each, compared to Copics which are approximately $5-$6 each.  Prismas are double-ended (like Copics) but the tips are more like marker tips – one is for finer work, and the other is a chiselled end (which I hardly ever use).  Copics have a BRUSH end, and a chiselled end.  The brush is what I LOVE about the Copics.  Also, the Copics are refillable, and the Prismas aren’t.  I digressed.  LOL  To answer Amanda’s question:

Yes, they are!  They are an alcohol-based marker, (same as Copic markers), and according to every article I’ve read, quite safe to use in your scrapbooks.

 Here’s a great article that I just found – written by Julia Stainton, about Copic markers (which are basically the same as prismacolor):

http://bellepapier.blogs.splitcoaststampers.com/2008/08/31/copic-sketch-markers-cest-bon/

This article states, in part:

“This ink is also acid free once the alcohol has evaporated, making them perfectly safe for scrapbooking.”

So, there you have it….the long answer to your question.

Now, on to today’s post.  Yesterday, I shared my favourite tutorial of 2008.  Today, I’m sharing my favourite cards of 2008.   This choice was pretty easy.  I participated in a summer-long challenge (which was actually a series of challenges) at Lil’ Scrappers (www.lilscrappers.ca).  One of the challenges was to make EIGHT cards….and as if that wasn’t difficult enough…they had to be MONOCHROMATIC!  Up to that point in time, I had never made a monochromatic card, so talk about stretching my creative muscles!  However, in the end, I was happy with the results.  Judge for yourself…

Which one is your personal favourite?  Leave me a comment, and let me know which one you like the best, and why!  I think my personal favourite of all 8 is the “bff” pink card.  Although, the orange “happy” card is a close second.

Thanks for stopping by!  Tomorrow, I will share my favourite altered items.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa V
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 16:10:18

    I like the happy for you it is cute
    Lisa V

    Reply

  2. HeidiD
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 10:32:21

    Thanks for the info on the prisma/copics! My fave card is the white “hi” card, love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

