Oh where oh where has my mojo gone?

Oh where on where could it be?  Remember that song?  I have no idea why it popped into my head.  Nothing in the way of scrappy inspiration seems to be working to get any kind of idea to pop into my head lol.  So, I guess I’ll just bring back a couple of my past faves from 2008.  I went to visit Sheila at Scrappin’ Great Deals yesterday, and did a little make’n take for a few of the customers, but I forgot to take a picture of it!  LOL  I guess I’ll have to reproduce it.  In the meantime, I’ve had lots of people ask about using Nestabilities (Spellbinders) in your Cuttlebug.  I posted a tutorial quite a while back that I thought I’d re-run today.  Not only for you, but for myself, too, because I got ME some Nestabilities yesterday!  🙂  I finally broke down, after resisting the urge for months!  I’ve been playing with them a little bit at SGD, but haven’t bought any of my own until yesterday.  So, what’s old is new, right?  Here’s the mini tutorial:

The process is two-fold – the first pass-through is to cut, and the second one embosses.  The only “extra” you need is a tan embossing mat, to make your Nesties work in your Cuttlebug.  So, here’s the recipe for the sandwich:

TO CUT:

1.  Start with your “A” plate

2.  “C” plate

3.  die – cutting side up

4.  Cardstock/pp – face down

5.  “B” plate

6.  Pass through Cuttlebug machine

TO EMBOSS:

1.  Keep everything intact – eg die attached to paper

2.  Remove “C” plate

3.  Lay die/paper (already cut) – paper side UP on “C” plate

4.  Add “tan embossing mat” (sold in packages of 2)

5.  SHIM – with 3 pieces of scrap cardstock for shapes, (2 pieces of cs for borders – scalloped ovals, etc.)

6.  Add BOTH “B” plates

7.  Pass through Cuttlebug

7.  Ink/paint/sand raised portions while still attached to the die, if you wish.

8.  Remove from die!

That’s it!  Easy peasy, right?

Another question that I am often asked is how to use those border punches in other creative ways, other than for scalloped borders on cards or layouts.

 

 

Back in October, I came across this cool tutorial, from Scrapbook & Cards Today’s blog.  If you haven’t checked out this blog, you must!  It is on my list of daily blogs to check.  Virginia Nebel posted a tutorial on using the new Fiskar’s Threading Water Punch!  I love this thing!  So, without further ado…here is Virginia’s post, shamelessly copied from her blog (with her permission, of course) – http://scrapbookandcardstodaymag.typepad.com/scrapbook_cards_today_blo/2008/10/3ts-with-virgin.html

3Ts with Virginia Nebel

Have you heard about the new Threading Water Punch from Fiskars and been wondering how to use it? Today, designer Virginia Nebel joins us to give a tutorial on this great new punch. Trust us; you’ll want to get your hands on one of these!

I am going to show you how to use the threading water punch from Fiskars to make a perfect scalloped square. Let’s get started:

Beginning tip: To punch scallops all around the square, I find it’s easy if you first make a template of a ‘perfect rounded corner’ first.

Making the template.

1. To start making your template, take a 5 x 5 inch square piece of cardstock. Make the first punch along the straight edge by lining it up along the grid line as shown in Fig A. This grid line is the 8th full square from the end.

Fiskarsa2. Punch down in a clean swift motion making sure not to move your paper.

Fiskarsb3. Rotate the template 90 degrees clockwise and line up to the grid line (also at 8th full square in from the end) and punch.

Fiskarsc4. You have just made your template with a punched scalloped corner with 3/8 inch strips on each side. Do not tear these strips off as they will be used as guides to properly trim your paper in later steps.

FiskarsdRounding a corner.

5. Take a square mat (could be rectangle as well) and start punching along one side. Just when you are about to reach the end, stop punching.

Fiskarse6. To round the corner, place your template over the scallops you have just punched and line up the corner scallop of your template to the last scallop punched. With a pencil, draw a line along the strip/edge of the template.

Fiskarsf7. The portion marked with an X is the excess paper you need to trim.

Fiskarsg8. After trimming the excess off in the previous step, you can now punch scallops along the new edge. Flip the punch over so that you can line up the last scallop punched with the first scallop on the punch itself- this will be your corner scallop.

FiskarshFinish punching around the edges.

Finish punching around all the edges using the steps above and you should end up with a perfect corner on your last edge. Figure L is an example of a finished card with a square scalloped mat.

FiskarslHappy punching!

 

Thank you so much, Virgina, for sharing your idea!  I love it!  )

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel V.
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 17:10:13

    Thanks for posting this! You’ve reminded me that I have to get that tan embossing mat. I’ve had a set of Nesties forever, but I want to be able to emboss!!! Off to find a good deal on the mat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

