Grungeboard + Glimmer Mist = WOW!

Hello everyone!  Well, this week seems to be evolving into a “techniques” week!  Looking back over my past blog posts, it seems that the tutorials are quite popular, so I am thinking my loyal followers won’t mind.  😉 

Last night, I broke open my package of Tim Holtz’ Grungeboard.  If you haven’t tried this stuff, you should!  If you love chipboard, you’ll love love love Grungeboard!  This stuff has a funny smell, tho…kind of a musty smell when you first open the package.  But, don’t worry…once you have it out of the package for a while, the smell seems to diminish…and, once you add ink or paint, or whatever you plan to add to it, it seems to disappear completely.

So, Grungeboard comes in a few different forms – you can get alphas, shapes, and just sheets of textured Grungeboard.  I love the pre-cut die shapes!  But, this time, I got the textured sheets.  They come in a few different textures – stripes, swirls, dots…  I got the swirls.  The first thing I did with it is run it through my Cuttlebug – not to emboss it, because it’s already textured, but to cut it into shapes.  AND, it works beautifully!  That makes Kim HAPPY!  lol…*small things amuse small minds*.  So, I proceeded to cut out some butterflies, hearts, flowers…and, before I knew it, I had used an entire sheet.  So, now I get to play with the shapes.  This stuff is absolutely indestructible!  YOu can bend it, crunch it, twist it…it just bounces back!  So, I did all of the above, and more!  Then, I got out my ink, paint, and….you guessed it!  I got out my GLIMMER MIST!  I have to admit I had already tried using my Glimmer Mist on Grungeboard, so I knew the results would be fabulous.  The only choice I had to make is what colour to use!  The sparkly pigment sits in the embossed swirls, and dries there, leaving a more intense shimmer in some areas.  Stunning!  See for yourself!  🙂

  cuttlebug-grunge

So, here are my die cut Grungeboard shapes.  The hearts were sprayed with Glimmer Mist.  The green butterfly was painted with Ranger Distress crackle paint, and while the paint was wet, I sprinkled it with some Doodlebug glitter.  The blue butterfly was inked with SU!  Not Quite Navy ink.  The other 3 shapes are untreated grungeboard.

So, there you go!  That’s all for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronda Palazzari
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 15:13:16

    fun fun….don’t you just love glimmering mists & grunge board. What a great combo!

    Reply

  2. Amy Leggate
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 09:45:09

    Ok…THese are AWESOME!!! OMG! I have some grunge and some GM….I have to try nowwwww! THanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

