A Sketch Challenge at The Townscrapper!

TGIF!  I can’t believe it’s Friday already.  Some weeks just fly by, don’t they?  It’s usually when I have a gazillion things to do, when the weeks seem way too short!  But, at least I feel like I’m getting back to making cards and blogging again!  I’ve missed blogworld.  I had kind of an epiphany today.  The reason why I haven’t been making many cards is because I have been trying some other creative outlets.  I’ve been learning to draw, and paint with acrylics and watercolors.  But, today, I realized that I can combine the two!  For the past year or so, I’ve been using my Copics to color all of my stamped images.  I still LOVE my Copics, but I’ve been having fun with my Neocolor II Watercolor crayons, and I thought, hey…I could use them to color my stamped images!  So, I took a little drive to Petrolia, and visited with Phebe at The Townscrapper, and picked me up some new Rubbah!  Isn’t this image adorable?  It’s by Victoria Case, available exclusively at The Townscrapper.  And, it comes with this sentiment, “Call Me”!  too!  I love it!  What a great way to tell someone on an adorable card, that you miss them and would love to chat some time!  I know exactly who I am going to send this card to.

This week’s challenge over at the Townscrapper blog, is a sketch challenge!  This sketch was brought to us by the very lovely and talented Nikki Fairbairn, who is joining the DT this week to celebrate our May theme – our Mother-Daughter challenge month!  I absolutely LOVE this sketch!

 

Here’s my take:

So, I stamped sweet Lola, using Stazon permanent ink on 140lb watercolor paper, and colored her with my Neocolor II Watercolor crayons, activated with my Stampin’ Up and Tombow watercolor markers.  The patterned papers are Basic Grey, and October Afternoon, available at The Townscrapper.  The base of the card is Bazzill Swiss dots, which is my current fave cardstock.  The embellishments were all from my stash, and old as the hills!  I haven’t used eyelets in so long!  I thought it was about time I dusted off some of my older supplies.

So, that’s all for today.  Stay tuned for a tutorial on this coloring method.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone use this medium for coloring stamped images, although I am sure someone has.  I like to think I’m the first, but I highly doubt it!  LOL  Thank you so much for stopping by!  Please leave me a comment….it makes me smile.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    May 14, 2010 @ 10:39:40

    Gorgeous card Kim! Love the papers, your embellies and how you’ve coloured Lola. Cheers, Maria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

