Soybean Hummus Recipe!

Hellooooooo out there!  Well, I guess it’s obvious that I haven’t been creating much lately.  Well, unless you can count cooking as creating?  Sure!  Why not?  I am definitely a creative cook.  I always tell people that the reason why I COOK, and don’t BAKE much is because I don’t like to follow a recipe!  My husband bakes (yep, really!) – and it’s funny that he bakes and I cook, because he is such a recipe-follower type of guy, and I am so *NOT* a recipe-follower type of gal!  Opposites attract, right?  Anyway…. I digress.  Today, I made soybean hummus.  This isn’t the first time I’ve made it, but I changed a few things this time, and it turned out quite *YUMMY*.  I’ve been trying to incorporate more plant-based proteins into my diet, because I read that it helps women over a *CERTAIN AGE* to lose that “muffin top”, and to control hormonal issues.  I have to say – it really is working!  I digress again. 

The “recipe” for my soybean hummus:

1 can of soybeans (rinsed)
1 clove crushed garlic
1/2 tsp fresh or pickled jalepano peppers
salt & pepper to taste
2 tsp olive oil
3 roasted red peppers (from a jar)
Put all ingredients except olive oil into a food processor, and blend, scraping sides of bowl.  While continuing to blend, add olive oil in a fine stream until well blended.  ENJOY!
I use this as a dip for vegetables or crackers.  I also put it on sandwiches instead of mayo.
Leave a Reply

