Merry Christmas!

Hello my friends!  Are you ready for Christmas?  I’m “ready” – I still have things to do, of course, but it’s all written down, so I’m not worried about forgetting anything.  That’s the trick, in my opinion, to getting through the holidays with a minimal amount of stress.  Lists!  It feels like I purged my brain lol!  Christmas is difficult for my family this year, because my sister passed away in September.  She loved Christmas, so we miss her so much.

I am trying very hard to maintain my fitness and healthy eating during the holidays this year.  We recently put in a fabulous home gym, so I have been doing 50-55 minutes of sprints on the treadmill, almost every day!  I also play tennis, but that doesn’t feel like a “real” workout to me.  It’s a bonus when I get exercise doing something I love!  I am just over 50 years old, and ever since I hit that mark, I have not been able to lose those last 10 pounds.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m 5’10”, and weigh 145 pounds.  Obviously, I’m not overweight, but I just like to be a bit on the thin side.  I’ve always weighed between 130-140 pounds my whole life, and as long as I exercised and ate reasonably healthy most of the time, I was able to maintain that weight.  But, not now!  I am so frustrated!  Does anyone have any ideas to help me out?  I would be SO grateful if someone could direct me to a book, a website, or SOMETHING geared towards women over 50.  It seems that the hormonal changes affect my ability to lose a few pounds.

As far as eating goes, this time of year is difficult for all of us!  I try to eat treats in moderation.  My husband bakes the most delicious desserts!  Yep – I said MY HUSBAND bakes!  Even though I love his goodies, I almost wish he didn’t like his sugar so much.  It’s almost impossible for me to NOT eat his yummies, when he can eat whatever he wants without gaining a pound.  I keep reading that moderation is the key, and I do agree with that.  I just find it so difficult, because I rarely allow myself high calorie treats, so, when I have one it tastes sooooooo good!  I can’t stop at just one!  What is it about sugar, and salt?  I crave sugary and salty treats.  Don’t most people only crave one or the other?  I find that whenever I eat anything sweet, and want something salty right after it, and vice versa.

This cartoon made me laugh (grabbed it from Di Hickman’s blog).  I am so inspired by Di Hickman.  I found her blog a few years ago when it was geared towards scrapbooking.  She has apparently always been into fitness, but recently rediscovered teaching fitness classes, after a few years away from the industry.  So, now, she has started a fitness blog, and it’s fabulous!  Check it out here.

So, that’s all for today.  This will probably be my last post until after Christmas. 

 MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

 

Leave a Reply

