A New Year…

So, it’s 2011.  Where am I today?  Where are you?  I’m not sure I am where I expected to be, or where I want to be.  At 52, I am still asking a lot of questions about me, my life, where I’ve been, where I’m going….what meaning I may or may not have in this life, in this world.  I know…it all sounds so….philosophical.  That’s my frame of mind at the moment. 

When  I began blogging, about 2 years ago, I was just following a trend.  I was a scrapbooker (mainly) at the time, and some of my scrapbooking idols had blogs, so I thought I should have one, too.  Then, I got a little bored with scrapbooking, (and had accumulated a lot of scrap paper) so I started making cards!  I love love love making cards (still do)!  But, making cards took me in a different creative direction when I found Tim Holtz (YUM), stamping, and coloring, and Copics, and Prismacolor pencils, and oh….the list goes on and on…so many fun art supplies!  ART supplies!  Was I becoming an artist?  I was always CREATIVE, but in a crafty sort of way.  My Mom taught me how to sew when I was 5 years old!  I made Barbie doll clothes, (and little marble bags and sold them at school for 5 cents a piece)!  I made this little tricycle out of cardboard for my grade 1 teacher, and she was so impressed that she kept that little cardboard tricycle on top of the piano…it was still there when I moved away in Grade 5.  I digress…

So, I was blurfing again tonight.  My creative muse is caught in my stuffed-up nose or something lol.  I caught this horrible cold/flu thing, so I haven’t felt much like drawing or painting, or zentangling.  So, I blurf.  I get so lost on the internet information highway sometimes!  So, here’s the thing that stopped me dead in my blurfing tracks! 

I am Willing.

© Margaret Dubay Mikus

I am willing to change what doesn’t work for me in my life.
I am willing to listen with an open heart, without judging.
I am willing to plant seeds that take a long time, if ever, to grow.
I am willing to feel and let go.
I am willing to make mistakes and learn from them.
I am willing to live in the present.
I am willing to forgive and forget in my heart.
I am willing to love as much as my endless spirit will allow.
I am willing to be seen in all my radiance.
I am willing to be fearless.
I am willing to be powerful.
I am willing to be peaceful.
I am willing to stand tall. and walk gracefully.
I am willing to sing with my stunning, full voice.
I am willing to allow. I am willing to let go.
I am willing to change.
I am willing to see and be seen.
I am willing to hear and be heard.
I am willing to feel and be felt.
I am willing to heal and be healed.
I am willing to love and be loved.
I am willing to change what doesn’t work for me in my life.
I am willing to listen with an open heart, without judging.
I am willing to plant seeds that take a long time, if ever, to grow.
I am willing to feel and let go.
I am willing to make mistakes and learn from them.
I am willing to live in the present.
I am willing to forgive and forget in my heart.
I am willing to love as much as my endless spirit will allow.
I am willing to be seen in all my radiance.
I am willing to allow. I am willing to let go..
I am willing to be fully human.
 
I found this at Stephanie Gagos’ blog.  She found it on the “Panta Rhei Blog”.  I “met” Stephanie at an online forum for art journaling (a series of free workshops over at Strathmore Artist Studio). Stephanie is a Certified Life Coach, Speaker, Writer, Survivor Advocate, Retreat Leader, according to her blog.  I spent some time reading her posts for the month of January, because she is asking (and answering) a question each day on her blog, and, of course, encouraging her readers to do the same.  For me, it has stirred up a lot of emotion.  I’m not sure what to do with it yet.  I’ll keep you posted….or not.  That’s all I have to say about that.  Good night WWW!
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 08:34:02

    Hi Kim. I just wanted to tell you I found your blog through Strathmore and I really loved looking at your work. I plan on saving it in my blogroll and visiting from time to time. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Margaret Dubay Mikus
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 01:36:11

    Hi Kim! What a pleasure to see my poem is still traveling the blogosphere. I am grateful that you wrote about responding to the message of the poem. (You are definitely ready.) This is one form of the poem, that someone else did. The original is in my book, “As Easy as Breathing: Reclaiming Power for Healing and Transformation.” I also posted my thoughts and the original form of the poem in my blog, Space of Grace” http://margaretdubaymikusblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/space-of-grace_12.html. It would be lovely to have you come visit me there. Reading your post I was amazed at the parallels between us. I love art supplies and messing about with them to see what I can make, and always have. And I made Barbie doll clothes (actually Tammy, a Barbie substitute) when I was a girl (I am 58). And I am getting over the flu. I trust all is well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

