Handmade Art Journals!

Hello my friends!  I can’t believe I’m even considering yet ANOTHER type of art!  But, this is not necessarily a new art form for me.  What am I talking about?  Quilting!  Yep!  But, not your traditional type of quilting.  What I want to do is make ART with fabric, which will probably include some stitching, but also gluing, painting, collage, encaustic, etc….!  I was (once again) inspired by my friend, Carla, who is a VERY accomplished, and putlished cardmaker/scrapbooker.  She has recently posted on her blogs (here and here) – about her recent interest in learning how to sew/quilt.  So, I have been sewing since I was 5 years old.  My Mom taught me how to sew, and I used to make a lot of my own clothes (I am very tall, so had trouble finding pants long enough for me when I was in my teens – had to make my own, or wear flood pants, lol).  At one point in time, I designed and made my own line of custom tennis clothing.  I made all the window coverings/drapes in my current home – which was probably the last time I sewed on anything other than paper!  That was about 8 years ago.

So, I did some You-Tubing last night, and came across a couple of videos that totally inspired me to try my hand at some basic quilting, to make covers for art journals!  Take a peek at Teesha Moore’s video here (which is just one of 4 parts):

And, yet another inspiring artist – Traci Bautista also makes journals with fabric, but her technique uses many other materials – paper, envelopes, plastic, etc.  I am planning to participate in her Art Journaling Daily challenges.

So, I ordered some BEAUTIFUL designer fabric from Etsy yesterday, but being the impatient person that I am, I couldn’t wait to receive it, so I took a trip to Fabricland today and picked up some pretty cotton fabrics so that I can play today!  lol  We’ll see how this turns out.  If anyone knows of any other instructional/inspirational blogs, or online sources for supplies, please let me know!  Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moralia
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 16:55:19

    You are SO creative, Kim!! We really should get together soon and do some “creating”! 🙂 Thanks for the sweet words!! ((hugs))

    Reply

  2. lorraine
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 15:18:09

    I am thinking of doing fabric journals too..teesha moore and traci bautista are really great arent they

    Reply

Leave a Reply

