Finished Quilted Art Journal!

I finished it!  YAY ME!  lol!  I don’t think the photos do this project justice, but I promised to post it, so here goes.  I poured so much TLC into this project, and I really love the way it turned out.  I really enjoyed the hand quilting, which surprised me!  I don’t usually have much patience for tedious, or time-consuming tasks.  But, this was different.  I was able to do the machine stitching of the individual blocks all at one time, and then I just took my embroidery kit with me whenever I was watching TV, or waiting for something to cook, or whatever.  I was able to create at times when I normally couldn’t!  Again, I must say that this looks (and feels) so much better irl.  But, I guess that’s the case with most photos.  I think the thing I love the most about it, is that it’s so imperfectly perfect!  Know what I mean?  I have never done any quilting (to speak of), so I still need a lot of practice, if I ever hope to make something close to a REAL quilt, but, I doubt I will ever make a real quilt!  lol  I also did some beading, which I have never done before.  Again, it’s perfectly imperfect! I do plan on making lots more of these yummy quilted art journals!  Oh,and the purple lacy bit sticking out of the top – is a  (dollar store) doily!  I dyed it with the juice left over from frozen blueberries!  What fun!  I also used my blueberry juice dye to color some cheesecloth, and one of the watercolor-paper pages.

So, here’s the front cover:

I was inspired by Teesha Moore’s method of making quilted book covers, but I didn’t make them exactly the way she describes in her video.  (She stitched 3 sides of her block, stuffed it with batting, and then stitched the 4th side).  Basically, I made a sandwich with the batting in the centre, and two pieces of fabric, and machine stitched all four sides.  Then, I did the hand stitching.   I know….it’s all crooked and stuff, but I don’t care!  I love it!

Here’s the reverse side of the front cover (before I assembled the book, and added the beading and embellishments):

 The back cover is just one big block.  I painted, stamped, and stenciled it.

Here’s detail of the spine (in progress – I was doing the beading when I took the photo).  I used this plastic stuff (what’s it called???) – normally used for rug hooking, I think???  Anyway, it made a fabulous spine, and the beads really made it fun! 

Here’s a blurry photo of the finished spine:

I hand stitched the mixed media signatures into the book, using waxed linen thread.  I got to use up tons of scrapbooking paper from my stash.

There you have it!  If you have any questions about any of the techniques used, please leave me a comment!  Thank you so much for allowing me to share my creative passion with you!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita E
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 10:09:08

    I love it!
    I think you did a great job on it and I’m really diggin’ the colors your chose too.
    Thanks for sharing!
    ♥Anita
    http://aseknc.blogspot.com/

    “I give my heart to Jesus.
    It’s kind of small, like me.
    But every time I feel it beat,
    I know he’s loving me.”
    Laurie Lazzaro Knowlton
    -My Valentine for Jesus

    Reply

  2. Crafty
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 12:31:06

    That is great! And a real inspiration, I’m working on an altered book round-robin and one of the themes is sewing. Love the work!

    -J

    Reply

  3. Gena
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 14:27:52

    cool quilted book cover……you can visit my blog too!!!

    Reply

  4. lizard
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 14:44:49

    if the pictures don’t do this journal justice then it must be spectacular. i love it. you did a fabulour job.

    Reply

  5. Seren
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 08:13:38

    This is simply delightful, you did such an amazing job on it. I make quilts {not hand quilts though} but I don’t have the time or abilities to do one right know but this project would satisfy both my loves. Quilting and Art journaling. I uses a lot of textiles in my journals already but this is just super cool. You’ve gotten me all excited all over again. Thank you.

    Reply

  6. Katie
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 13:56:49

    So glad to have found you thru CPS. This is really cool- love all the details of stitching and beading! What a treasure! I have the same problem asyou-I never think my blog photos do it justice!

    Reply

  7. Cyndi Neumann
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 07:36:00

    HIKim,
    I found you at Cloth, Paper Scissors which I just joined today! Your cover is just magnificent! I love all the detailing and that you have told how you made it. That beading spine is fabulous! Also that you are new at this, well, it is inmy dreams.
    You may have just given me the incentive to get it started!
    Thanks,
    Smiles, Cyndi

    Reply

  8. Ardy
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 19:44:31

    Loving your book! I’m in the process of making an art quilt book so you are an inspiration to me!

    Reply

  9. Lizzie
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 09:49:18

    I love it!!!!! I so need to make one of these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

