More Mixed Media Melange

Are you ready for a Tyvek transformation?  Lesson 4 of Mixed Media Melange over at the Land of Lost Luggage taught us how to create a mixed media piece, with lightweight Tyvek as the base.  I put my own spin on this lesson, and had so much FUN with it!  Isn’t that what art is all about?  I think so.  So, I photographed my piece during various phases of the process.  So, heeeeeeeeeeeeere it is!

Phase one – collage, using Golden adhesive products, and various collage elements on a 17″ x 11″ piece of lightweight Tyvek.

Phase 2 – Golden fluid acrylics paint added.

Phase 3 – another layer of collage -white and light-colored tissue papers added with Golden Polymer Medium (Gloss).

And, the final phase (so far) – I used my Crafter’s Workshop Template, with Golden’s interference paint:

Woo hoo!  Updated this post to add – My piece is featured on the

Crafter’s Workshop Blog!  How cool is that?  🙂

So, what do you think?  Am I done?  I continue to find it difficult to decide when an artpiece is finished.  I’ve ruined a couple of pieces by going a bit too far, so I am trying to learn from my past mistakes.  I just think this needs something…if I want to use it as a standalone art piece.  I may add some stitching, or some grunge with micaceous iron oxide paint…?  I welcome any feedback/suggestions!  I would love to hear your comments, so please don’t be shy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Jones Lantier
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 18:46:11

    This is my favorite project in MMM! Congrats on being featured on Crafter’s Workshop!

    Reply

  2. Cindi Picou
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 18:51:02

    This is way cool!!! I’m going to have to try this!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

