INSOMNIA = 2 Blog Posts in 2 Days

It’s 2:17 am. I can’t sleep. Apparently my kitty is competing with my iPad for my attention. She is sprawled across my torso, between my knees and my computer. Typing with one finger and holding my iPad with my other hand is far too slow…kitty must find another warm spot to purr upon.

I have been dabbling in watercolor painting lately, and quite enjoying it. But, then again, I haven’t discovered many types of art that I don’t enjoy. My hubby thinks I should focus on one, but I get bored easily, so I like being able to try new art forms when boredom hits.

Fast forward to 1:51 pm…I wasn’t able to complete this post this morning on my Ipad, because I hadn’t uploaded the images into WordPress.  I have an Ipad, which I LOVE, but it has some limits.  I have not figured out how to upload photos into WordPress to insert into my blog post.  I have to use my desktop to upload.  Once the photos are here, then I can insert them into a post.  There must be a way, though….does anyone know?

So, here is my first watercolor painting in my Strathmore watercolor visual journal.  The paper in these journals is so fabulous!  It’s nice and thick, an dhas just enough texture.  Watercolors react so beautifully.  I know I have a long way to go, but I think I’m doing okay for a complete watercolor beginner (other than watercolor crayons, which don’t really count, according to my art teacher).

I used the method I learned from Jane LaFazio.  I purchased a downloadable video called “From Art Journaling to Art”.  I really learned a lot, and have been pleased with my results!  I started with drawing the subject with pencil.  Then, you outline with a waterproof marker, erase the pencil, and then add the watercolor paint.  I love this painterly style!  It’s a lot more difficult than it looks tho, lol!

These first 2 are in my smaller journal – I think it’s 5 1/2 x 8″?  Something like that.

.

My second effort was an improvement, I think:

Next, I went with a larger size journal – 9×12″.  Lots of room to add some journaling.

So, there you have it!  Practice, practice, practice.  Like anything else, the more you play, the more fun the process is!  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kathy
    May 17, 2011 @ 19:32:03

    I really like your watercolours. Nice light touch with the colour and subtle shading with deepening the colour. It does take practice and that’s where I am at too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

