Sunshine, Gratitude and Blue Poo

Hello my blog friends!  TGIF!  I’ve have been doing some serious inner reflection for the last few days.  My Mom is quite ill, with her third bout with cancer.  She had surgery 2 days ago, and is still in ICU, on a ventilator, and completely sedated.  She is 71 years old.  She is a very strong person, with a strong heart (and a kind one, too!), so we are all hoping and praying that she makes it through this.  In the meantime, I signed up for a couple of online art journaling courses.  I thought this would be a good way to find the strength, and courage, to get myself through this.  I need to be strong.  It’s so difficult watching someone you love suffer.  What makes it even worse, is the recent loss of my youngest sister, who was a nurse, and was so very helpful to my Mom the last few times she has needed home health care.  She is so deeply missed at this time.

So, given all this, I have been taking an art journaling course over at Journal Girl’s website.  Samie (Samantha Kira Harding) has been such an inspiration to me for a few years now.  She was the person that introduced me to art journaling, through her Youtube videos, and her published articles in Art Journaling magazine (and others).  She is young (in her 20’s), but so wise for her age.  She has been vlogging daily for the past couple of weeks, and it has been so interesting to get to know her through her daily vlogs.  She suffers from fibromyalgia, and has her good and bad days, but, through it all, she has continued to spread her words and inspiration to the internet world.  Thank you so much, Samie, for everything you do!  Back to the art journaling course – she calls it “True to you”, and for only $25.00, I have already learned so much, and been totally inspired to see my life in a way that has helped me to stay positive, and to be so very grateful for it all.  Her first exercise is to take a walk, and to ask yourself some questions, and then search for the answers while enjoying the fresh spring air, and sunshine.  Well, I don’t generally take walks, so I made mine a walk/run, and really enjoyed it.  She suggests that you collect items along the way to add to your art journal, or to take photos.  I took photos all day (not just on my walk).  I tried to find stuff to add to my journal, but really couldn’t find a thing.  Well, I did spot a pretty blue item in the grass, which looked like a piece of tissue paper or the like (from a distance), so I happily ran to pick up my treasure…..but, wait….what is it???  A closer look revealed this:

It’s DOG POO in a bag (I think, anyway….I didn’t open it to find out) – ….*YUCK*.  Why would someone go to the trouble of bringing a little bag along for their dog’s poo, and then leave it behind?  Gross.  So, suffice it to say, I didn’t put it in my art journal.  lol

So, today’s post is about gratitude.  I am so grateful for so many things.  But, rather than list them, I’ll illustrate my gratitude with photographs:

1.  Sunshine and my kitty.

2.  My health.

3.  Beautiful walking paths.

4.  Flowers.

5.  Happy Mail!

Of course, this list is not all-inclusive.  There are so many things that I am so incredibly thankful for!  But, that’s all for today.  I am now working on an art journal spread, inspired by the above piece of  junk mail.  The topic?  Gratitude, of course.

What are you grateful for today?  Leave me a comment, with your gratitude list, and you could win an art journaling kit from moi!  Yeppers….I am giving away some blog candy!  I have not done this in ages, and I thought this would be a good time to give back to all of you who read my blog regularly.  Check back for details…but, you can’t win if you don’t play!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cyndi Neumann
    May 13, 2011 @ 14:08:41

    You do have a beautiful walking trail and I did pick up on the doggy bag before I scrolled further down! ( Hurray for me). We have brown bags and I do carry to a dumpster. I just don; get my everyone doesn’t and some don’t even go so far as the bag itself which really gripes me when I see them just leave it!

    I love to carry my camera also just for the little things, I am trying to get better abut not picking everything up and bring it home and I tell myself a picture will do. This is very hard for me as I am a hoarder I guess I should finally admit. I do collected everything in nature, rocks, moss, sticks, etc. Well, I might need it in a collage I tell myself and I have only done a few. I do mean to do more but I am always trying to make more room so this tells in itself I really have a problem.

    I am very sorry about your Mother and Sister, I lost my brother last year and it hurts so bad. Heck, I am still grieving my dogs too. I guess I always will.

    I need to learn to journal more, I do write things now and clip photos in mags too but never get to make them into what I intend to. Another way to hoard things and not do what I intend.

    Maybe I can learn from you and thanks for the opportunity.

    Smiles, Cyndi

    Reply

  2. Goog
    May 14, 2011 @ 13:49:01

    Where I live, the people all leave their poo bags on the trail and I was an old lady one day with a grocery bag on her arm walking along picking it all up. I figure it must be her job.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Art Journal Kit Giveaway! « Kim's Kreative Korner
  4. lnmelon
    May 15, 2011 @ 08:24:27

    Ewwwww. Glad you figured it out in time! SO sorry to hear about your struggles. You are so smart to tell us about it and to keep focusing on all that loveliness you notice (even when there’s disguised poo in the midst of it). You are definitely not alone. Hugs, and I’m so happy to meet you! -Ellen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

