A Bird in the Hand…

“A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush”

What does that mean?  Well, according to WiseGeek,

“A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush,” also sometimes given as, “A bird in the hand is better than two in the bush,” is a proverb saying that it is better to stick with something you already have, rather than pursuing something you may never get. This proverb is a very popular warning, widely used in many English-speaking countries.

The phrase seems to have originated at some point in the 13th century, in a related Latin form: Plus valet in manibus avis unica quam dupla silvis. This can be loosely translated as, “A bird in the hand is worth more than two in the woods.”

The basic warning of “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush,” is that you must take care not to get too greedy in life. If you are holding a bird in the hand, you have your meal for the evening. You can take that one bird, and be well fed. If instead you let it go to pursue two birds you’ve spied in a bush, you may catch neither, and wind up hungry for the night. This proverb points out that by passing up a sure thing for a more promising possibility, you also run the risk of losing both the sure thing and the promising possibility.”

Hhmm….I’m not sure I believe in that philosophy.  This would imply that you shouldn’t take risks, and I believe that a successful artist takes risks all the time!  Anyway, that saying came to mind yesterday when my husband called to me to come see something…quick!  lol  So, I stopped what I was doing, and went to the kitchen, and there he sat, with a little baby gold finch in his hand!

He explained that it flew into the patio door/window, and dropped to the ground.  He went to see if it was okay, and was able to pick him up!  I had read somewhere that birds can go into shock, and all you need to do is keep them warm until they come out of it.  So, that’s exactly what we did, and after a few minutes, he flew away!  How cool is that?  Well, it was one of the highlights of our weekend, anyway!  🙂

I don’t have anything artsy to share today, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been art journaling!  I’ve been playing with my beloved Copic markers lately!  I’m a certified Copic Instructor, but haven’t used my learned talents in quite some time!  I have to say, it was quite enjoyable.  I’ll share my Copic work of art tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

