Letter Lab Love!

I am totally addicted to online classes!  lol  My most recent fix came in the form of a hand lettering class taught by Lori Vliegen, and hosted over at Creative Workshops’ Ning site.  I’ve been following Lori’s blog for a while now, and admiring her hand lettering, so when I saw that she was offering a course, I just had to take it!  🙂  If you have ever wanted to improve your handwriting for your art journals, cards, or whatever, I highly recommend this course.  I signed up last week, and it started on November 7.  But, all the videos and pdf’s were ready for viewing on the 7th…talk about instant gratification!  The biggest thing I have learned about hand lettering, is practice, practice, practice! I’m not the most patient person, so the practice part is hard for me.  But, after only a couple of hours, I was able to take my handwriting from bad to…well, better lol.

My first “project” made me giggle.  Take a peek, and see if you can figure out why:

Did you catch it?  Talk about irony!  I misspelled a word, and didn’t even realize it until I saw it on my computer screen!  lol  Too funny.

So,  after a little more practice, I pulled out my 9 x 12 Canson XL mixed media art journal, and here’s what I came up with:

I borrowed the quote from Pinterest.  The original source is The Ink Society’s Etsy Store.

That’s all for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lori vliegen
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 16:33:52

    hi kim!! i’m just thrilled that you’re having so much fun in the letterLAB!! i think your letterforms are really fabulous, and you’re right, they get even better with practice, too! thanks SO much for the special post that you wrote…..and thanks for the linky love, too…..you’re a sweetheart to do that, and i really appreciate it!! xox

    Reply

  2. MarjanneS
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 17:56:45

    Hi Kim,
    I’m one of your letterlab classmates and that’s how I found your blog. I’m like you, addicted to online classes. There are so many great ones that I sometimes don’t know where to start first ….. It’s a great way to learn things or from people I wouldn’t be able to otherwise (I’m in Europe).
    Have a nice weekend (with lots of lettering fun :-))

    Reply

  3. Cynthia Schelzig
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 15:11:45

    Lovely lettering work! I love your Xmas cards below…so many variations!

    Reply

  4. Janine
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 22:18:59

    I just found your blog, and I think I’m your long-lost crafting twin. I love to do all of the things that you have listed in your banner! I’m not very good at any of it, though, but I’m having fun trying. I’ll be adding your blog to Google Reader. Thanks for your inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

