Smashing in Bali/Hong Kong

Are you bored with my Smash travel journal yet?  😉  I’m just a tad proud of this journal.  Not because it is particularly pretty, but because I FILLED IT!  I’m still in awe of the fact that I actually filled a journal in only 3 weeks.  I actually achieved my goal.  How did I do it?  It’s simple.  I just stuck stuff down.  All kinds of stuff.  Most of it was FREE, too!  I made a point of picking up the freebies offered in hotel lobbies, airports, and the like.  Then, I felt free to cut them up and stick them down!

 * A tip – get 2 of everything.  There is often stuff on the reverse side that you may want to use 😉  I didn’t think to do that until half way through my trip.*

 If you were wondering about the little business-card size photos scattered throughout my journal, I printed them out with this cool little PoGo printer by Polaroid!  Honestly, this thing is the coolest little gadget!  You just plug it into your camera, and print directly from any camera!  The pics are not the BEST quality, but they are perfect for your travel journal!  And, it wasn’t even very expensive – $39.99 CA from Amazon.ca.  There are no ink cartridges, or anything extra needed, other than the special zink-technology paper.  I love this thing!

The two photos on the left page were taken from our Hong Kong hotel room, one during the day, and one at night, and printed with my PoGo. The two little photos on the right side page were also printed from my PoGo. I added some rub-ons after I photographed this.

Something else I did, is purchase those cheapo little calendars with the photos of various popular tourist sites.  They were really inexpensive, so I didn’t mind cutting them up.  Post cards work well, too!  I also found a used book store, and bought a Chinese book for less than $1.00, and used torn pages throughout the journal.

I used post card images, a receipt, and a Chinese book page for this spread, stuck down with the Smash pen glue stick, and washi tape, and Tim Holtz tissue tape (scored in Hong Kong!):

That’s it for today!  Thank you so much for stopping by!  I do plan to continue sharing some of my art journaling tips.  If there’s something specific you would like me to blog about, please leave me a comment, or send me an email.  🙂

Leave a Reply

