Giveaway Time!

I have not offered up any blog candy in a long time!  Back when I was on several design teams, I used to give away stuff on a pretty regular basis.  Should I give away a handmade Smash-style journal?  I love love love my Smash books.  I have filled one, and have 2 more on the go right now.  One is for travel (I smashed about my September, 2011 trip to NYC, but only used about half the book).  The red one (used for random stuff) is almost full.  I was planning to purchase another one, and may still do that.  Michael’s is carrying them now, so I thought I’d check my local Michael’s and see if I can use a coupon to get a good deal on one.  But, Michael’s usually seems to inflate their prices, in general, so we’ll see.  Alternatively, I may make myself one.  I just finished making a couple for two special little girls, and they love them!  I forgot to photograph them, though.  😉

Back to my blog candy.  I thought I’d share some of my creative goals for 2012 here, and give you a chance to do the same on your blog, as a way of inspiring others.  So, for those of you who have blogs, if you blog about your goals (or may have already blogged about them), add a comment to this post, with a link to your post (not your blog, but the actual post, please, so I can take a peek), then you will be entered into my draw for your very own hand made Smash-style book!  I’ll leave this open for a week.  I’ll draw one random name on Saturday, January 14.

So, here are some of my artsy/creative goals for 2012:

  1. Create daily.
  2. Blog at least 3 times per week.
  3. Pick a word for the year.
  4. Take at least 5 online art courses.
  5. Take one in-person art course.
  6. Learn to create digitally.
  7. Do more painting on canvas.
  8. Learn to paint BIG!

I think that’s all for my goals.  What about you?  Do you have some creative goals for 2012?  Do you want to win a hand made Smash-style journal?  If  so,(for those of you who have blogs), if you blog about your goals (or may have already blogged about them), add a comment to this post, with a link to your post (not your blog, but the actual post, please, so I can take a peek), then you will be entered into my draw for your very own hand made Smash-style book!  If you don’t have a blog, please add your 2012 creative goals to your comment.  I’ll leave this open for a week.  I’ll draw one random name on Saturday, January 14.  Check back regularly this week, because I will be posting a picture of the journal that you could win!  🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda a
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 14:15:06

    Amazon.com has some of the smash books at a cheaper price. Still have shipping though.

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:14:15

      Yep, and I’m in Canada which makes shipping even more expensive, and I risk being charged duty at the border, too.

      Reply

  2. Angela
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 16:29:18

    Thanks so much Kim for sharing your work. I’m about to fulfill my biggest goal in going to Malaysia in 6 weeks time for my own extreme makeover having lost 35kg’s in the last year. I will be taking a Smash Book with me to record this journey [did you know that OhMyCrafts have Smash Books for $6.50 at the moment?] and was wondering if you would mind please telling me what supplies you took with you to Smash your Bali / Hong Kong trip?

    Love your books.
    Ange

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 18:39:21

      Hello Ange! Thank you so much for your kind comment! Your dream vacation sounds amazing! Congrats on your weight loss, too! I am documenting my current fitness journey at my other blog (link in sidebar). Thank you for letting me know about OhMyCrafts! I am going to check them out as soon as I finish this reply. As far as supplies I took to journal in my Smash book, I took quite a bit, actually lol. But, I didn’t use it all, so I’ll tell you what I ended up using. A glue stick (the one that comes with the Smash book doesn’t last very long), my Tim Holtz tiny attacher, washi tape, scissors, markers for doodling and journaling. Oh, and my little picture printer. That thing is amazing!

      Reply

      • Angela
        Jan 13, 2012 @ 18:52:54

        Thanks so much Kim for sharing and thank you for your comments. I have stocked up on adhesive and just bought myself a Pogo. 😀 Think I’m just about good to go now. (I daren’t look at Tim Holtz stuff. That would be fatal to the bank balance.)

  3. Ge Cavalcante
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:47:11

    thanks for sharing your work and ideas 🙂
    this year i’m planning to:

    1. create / write / take pics weekly (i loved your tip about polaroid pogo!)
    2. learn how to use photoshop
    3. make photo albums with lots of journaling

    so… it’s all for now.

    thanks for the chance.

    have a great day 🙂

    Reply

  4. Maria
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 00:36:39

    hooray for generous giveaways! Here are some of my creative goals for the year.

    -incorporate family photos into my art journal
    -less drooling over other people’s fancy supplies and pretty blog posts and more getting to my desk to make things already
    -focus on realistic sketching
    -complete at least 2 knitting projects
    -start a creative blog
    Thanks!

    Reply

  5. bapaints
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 14:22:04

    Sounds like a great giveaway.

    This year, I’m working at developing freedom in my art journal.
    Betty Ann
    uhomeschool atyahoo dot com

    Reply

  6. Kimberly
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 12:27:18

    I tried to make my goals this year more attainable, here is hoping.
    1. Devote at least 1 hour per day during the week and at least 2 hours per weekend day.
    2. Take my first online class. I am already doing this. I am also taking Joanne Sharpe’s Letter Love 101. I am way behind already. Having a hard time with #1 already.
    3. Complete an art journal. See #2.
    4. Crochet a baby blanket for my nephew who is set to arrive June 16th.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

