My Word for 2012

Hello my friends!  I have decided to pick a word for 2012.  I’ve done this before, but I usually forget about it after a month or two.  We’ll see how this year goes.  I’ve chosen INTENTION as my word for 2012.  I want to live with intention.  I want to make art with intention. I want to accomplish my goals with intention.  I want to exercise with intention. Blog with intention. Even speak with intention.  To me, that means that I will have clearly defined goals, and strive towards accomplishing them.  All of them.  If I don’t reach a goal, I will evaluate why that happened, and figure out a way to prevent it from happening again.  Yes.  That’s what I’m going to do.

So, I am sharing a journal page I started on January 1st, and INTENDED to complete on January 1st.  But, I didn’t.  Why?  Because I got stuck.  I had it partially completed, and didn’t know what it needed to feel finished.  That inspiration came to me yesterday, so I completed it with INTENTION.  🙂

I started this journal page on a 9×12 piece of 90 lb watercolour paper, with my hand lettering.  Then, I went to town with my markers and stamps.  I used my Faber Castell Pitt pens for the black areas.  Then, I added some shine with my Sakura gel pens.  Then, I went in with my Copic markers and doodled around the “for 2012” section at the top.  The rainbow coloured stripes were made with my Inktense pencils and a water brush.  Then, I stamped the leaves and flowers with a couple of my Stampin’ Bella stamps, with Stazon ink.  I didn’t get a great imprint (my Stazon pad is getting dry), so I went back in with my black brush Pitt pen to darken them.  then, I outlined the black with white, using my favourite white pen – by Uniball Signo.

Same idea with this next spread in my XL Moleskine.  I started this page quite some time ago, but it didn’t feel finished.  So, I went back to it yesterday, and finished it!  🙂

I used the same flower stamp by Stampin’ Bella on this spread.  I also used a Crafter’s Workshop stencil, and some spray ink to create the grid effect.  I sprayed through the stencil on the page on the right, and then stamped with the same stencil on the left page.  I doodled all around the flowers with Sakura gel pens, and my Faber Castell Pitt pen.  Then, I added the purple washi tape, and hand lettered the sentiment on top, with my Pitt pens.  I added the shadow (which isn’t very visible on the photo), with my Copic markers in C-2 cool gray and C-0 cool gray.  The finishing touch was the Stampin’ Bella leaf stamp around the top edge, stamped using Stazon black ink.

So, that’s all for today.  What about you?  Do you have a word for 2012?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marrianna
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:00:57

    WOW!!! I really, really love your new journal pages. I am so inspired. I, too, am doing Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s Art Journal Every Day and haven’t posted to the AJED site. Will do so soon. I have Copic markers but haven’t used them. I love the colors but find they bleed onto the back of the page. I also have a HUGE Moleskin that I have gessoed pages that will be ready for me whenever I get to them. Thank you for sharing your fabulous art journal pages.

    Marrianna in Flagstaff, AZ, USA

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:13:39

      Hello Marrianna! Thank you for your kind comment. You are correct about the Copic markers – they do bleed through most papers. But, if you add a coat of acrylic paint or medium before you use the Copics, they will not bleed. An alternative marker, which is similar to the Copic (permanent, brush tip), is the Faber-Castell Big Brush pen. They do not bleed through the page.

      Reply

  2. Marrianna
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 13:39:07

    Thanks for the suggestion about acrylic paint or medium. I’m going to pull out my big Moleskin that has the prepped pages and see what happens. Just read your fitness blog and you are a true inspiration. Keep up the great work.

    Reply

  3. teddi
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 18:29:55

    your creative lettering, & use of color delight me! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ge Cavalcante
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 20:33:41

    i love your journal pages and i’m in love with your lettering ❤
    i do not have a 2012 word yet. i'm still thinking about what i intend to do.
    if something come, i'll tell you.

    thanks for sharing your words and work.
    have a great day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

