Oh My…I Have a Lot of Journals lol

So, just out of curiosity, I decided to see exactly how many journals I have on the go right now.  I like to work in several journals at one time, but I think I’ve gotten a little out of control as of late.  You be the judge:

I really do enjoy art journaling!  😉  Taking these photos lead me to blog about the various journals that I enjoy working in.

First, my Smash journals.  I seem to fill these quickly, just because most of the work is already done for you.  All I generally do is slap in some ephemera, add a little washi tape, and I’m done!  I’m in the process of making a Youtube video flip of my beloved Smash journals.

As you can see, one of them is full, and the other two are move than half full.  🙂

Next, premade journals.  There are so many options out there!  When I began art journaling, I was a little overwhelmed by all the options.  Over time, I have played with a number of different journals, and, depending on the type of journaling I do, they all seem to have their purpose.

For journaling using wet mediums (acrylic paint, sprays, watercolor crayons, inktense pencils, etc.), my absolute favourite is my watercolor Moleskines.  They come in several different sizes.  Of course, I have them all lol.  The biggest one is HUGE…12″ x 16″!  The smallest one isn’t in the photo…it’s about 3″ x 5″?  I also like the one with the purple label.  The paper is thick, but not watercolor.  It is a nice off-white color, and will hold up to a fair bit of wet mediums.

My next favorite pre-made journals are the Strathmore mixed media journals, and the Strathmore Visual Journals (140 lb watercolor).  Strathmore really has done a fabulous job…the paper is nice and thick, and holds a TON of watercolor-type mediums!  The only thing I am not crazy about is the spiral binding, but I’ve learned to work with it.  The Robert Bateman Sketchbook is good for dry medium, and will also hold up to a fair amount of wet stuff.

Next, handmade journals.  I should give a little shout-out to Julie Prichard.  She introduced me to journal making.  Her online courses, offered at The Land of Lost Luggage Ning site, are awesome.  I made three journals in one of her classes.  I also made Teesha Moore’s famous 16 page journal,(see her Youtube videos – the first one is below) and the fabric quilted one at the back is based on one of Teesha’s journals.

Last, but certainly not least, are my Letter Love journals, made while participating in Joanne Sharpe’s Letter Love classes.  She has a new class starting soon, and I can’t wait!

Sooooo…..there you have it.  (Almost) All of my current journals.  My name is Kim…lol

Thanks for stopping by!  If you have any questions about art journals, please feel free to ask.  If I don’t know the answer, I will find it for you!  Cuz that’s just how much of an enabler…er….friend I am! 😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonia **Sony**
    May 31, 2012 @ 12:09:04

    Hi!
    Searching for some SMASH ideas (I want create my own SMASH journal) I find your blog… You did beautiful creations very inspirational, thanks! I have many ideas but i don’t know what theme start (of course i have a lot theme’s ideas) but where I can start, lol!!!… Thinking and thinking (from last year to now)
    -Sony
    Sonia-Studio60

    Reply

  2. Harriet Hensley
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 07:56:20

    beautiful homemade journals and thanks for sharing you favorite journals…..can’t wait to watch the smash videos…..thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

