Flora Bowley <3

I took Flora Bowley’s online course a few months ago.  If you aren’t familiar with Flora’s work, you must check out her blog.  She does this amazing abstract expressive type of art.  I so want to be able to paint like her, (but like me) some day (if you know what I mean lol). While taking the course, I worked on 3 canvasses, and 2 art journals.  If nothing else, I wanted to be able to paint BIG.  Her art is HUGE.  I finally got around to photographing some of my work, and thought I’d share one of them today. This is in my Moleskine A3 journal.  This thing is HUGE.  If you want to get a feel for the size of it, check out Donna Downey’s video here.  It is 16 1/2″ x 11 1/2″!  Donna got the sketchpad version.  Mine is the watercolor version, and is landscape orientated, as opposed to portrait oriented like Donna’s.  And, the paper in mine is thicker, which, in my opinion, holds wet media much better.  So, when it’s open, it measures 33″ x 11 11 1/2″!

 

So, here’s my Flora Bowley inspired art journal spread.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 17:28:39

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Linda K
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 20:35:44

    Loving this! I’ve heard many good things about Flora’s class. Bravo to you for working on a large base(something that still scares me)! thanks for sharing on Julie’s blog.

    Reply

  3. Carolyn Dube
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:20:12

    Such beautiful colors and lines!!!

    Reply

  4. kaz
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 05:31:34

    lovely and the watercolour works so well

    Reply

  5. aezbanhadenews1986
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 04:50:09

    Reblogged this on Lindsay Clark Blogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

