Roasted Tomato Sauce – Recipe

Every year for the last 10 or so years, I have made this delicious roasted tomato sauce from the tomatoes grown in our organic garden.  We plant 12 tomato plants, some roma tomatoes, and some beefsteak-style (not sure of the variety we planted this year).  We end up with enough tomatoes to make enough sauce to last us through the winter.  Ever since I began making my own sauce, I really do not enjoy the canned/purchased variety any more.  This sauce not only tastes amazing, but it is way healthier than the store-bought variety.  I often talk about my sauce with friends, and have had repeated requests for my recipe, so this year I remembered to snap some photos along the way so that I can share with my blog friends.

The recipe is not an exact science.  I don’t measure anything, and it always turns out amazing.  Obviously, the majority of the sauce is tomatoes.  I use my largest roasting pan, which is large enough for a turkey.

Ingredients:

  • Tomatoes (cored and cut in half)
  • Onions (peeled and cut in quarters)
  • Garlic (a whole bulb, peeled and crushed)
  • Fresh, roughly chopped herbs (I use oregano and basil from my garden)
  • Carrots (peeled and chopped into 1″ pieces)
  • dried herbs (italian)
  • Hot peppers chopped into 1″ pieces (we like our sauce spicy!)
  • Red and green peppers, cored and roughly chopped
  • Any other vegetables you wish to add!  I’ve used zucchini, eggplant, squash, etc.
  • Good quality extra virgin olive oil

Put all vegetables and herbs into the roasting pan, and cover with herbs.  Add generous amounts of salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil.

Slow roast in a 325 degree oven for 6-8 hours, stirring about every hour or so.  If vegetables start to burn a bit, don’t worry….just stir, and maybe add a bit more olive oil, which will stop the burning, and enhance the roasted flavor.  It will cook down to about half.

Remove from the oven, and allow to cool.

Puree, either with an immersion blender, or a food processor.  Freeze in freezer bags.

Thank you so much for stopping by!  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave me a comment.  I hope you will give this a try.  Trust me, you will be hooked on homemade tomato sauce!  I use it for spaghetti sauce, chilli, casseroles, etc.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pia
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 11:04:33

    YUM!

    Reply

  2. maria rosa
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 16:47:18

    HOLA KIM,MUY BUENA TU RECETA DE TOMATES LA REALICE Y ME QUEDO RIQUISIMA. GRACIAS POR ENVIARMELA. UN BESO ENORMEDate: Tue, 14 Aug 2012 15:58:23 +0000 To: mariarosa_ro@hotmail.com

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 18:02:43

    I have a roaster of this in the oven right now. I love the simplicity. May I post this to Pinterest?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

