I Heart Drawing 29 Faces in September

So, I kind of cheated a bit, in an effort to get caught up with the 29 Faces in September challenge.  In conjunction with the challenge, I am participating in Jane Davenport’s “I Heart Drawing” class.  This class is absolutely phenomenal!  I am enjoying her instruction so much.  I feel like I’ve grown leaps and bounds with my drawing skills.  So, one of the assignments was to do a bunch of small faces, so I did a whole page of itty bitty faces with varying amounts of detail.  There are eight faces in total on the page, which brings me almost up to date with the 29 faces challenge!  🙂

I have another face almost complete.  That means I have done 10 faces so far, and it’s September 10th!  😉

I’ve also been making journals.  I altered a children’s story book that I got from my Mom.  She had given it to my late sister in 1976, so it has special meaning to me.  Although it seems a bit weird to “ruin” a book, if I hadn’t altered it, chances are it would have just sat in my Mom’s bookcase forever.  I made a “Joynal”, as part of another one of Jane Davenport’s classes.  I love how the cover turned out!  I started with a coat of gesso, then added some letter stickers and Thickers from my stash.  Then, another coat of gesso, followed by a spray with my Dylusions spray inks.  I then outlined the letters with my Pitt big brush pen in a turquoise colour.  It looks so cool!  🙂

I also made a couple of journals from scratch.  I used the bookbinding method taught by Julie Prichard in one of her online courses.

The larger one (it’s 11 x 15″), is filled with Arches hot press watercolour paper.  I haven’t finished the cover yet, but can’t decide what I want to do next.  It is canvas, which is primed, and I stenciled some Golden glass bead gel on the cover.  I think I will go in next with some pan pastels, and see where that takes me.  I’ll post the final version.

The smaller one (it’s 7 1/2″ x 11″), has some of the same watercolour paper, along with some marker paper.  The covers are chipboard, covered in washi tape.

I think that’s it for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by!  If you have any questions about any of these projects, feel free to leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

