Drawing Faces and Making Paint

That’s what I’ve been up to – drawing faces, and making paint.  I’m taking a couple of online courses – one with Jodi Ohl, over at the Luminarte “Dreaming in Color” website – she is calling it “Painterly in Pink”, and we are doing a couple of portraits, one on canvas, and the other on watercolor paper – using the Luminarte watercolor paints – Twinklng H2O’s, and their new acrylic shimmer paint – Silks.  I started late, so I am a little behind the other students, but I am enjoying drawing faces again.  I started by making some color charts in my art journal, to test the paints.  I made some of my own (link to my tutorial on Youtube):

And, here are my faces – drawn with graphite on bristol paper:

And, my canvas – work in progress:

I’m also taking Joanne Sharpe’s latest course – her first mini course.  She is calling it “Bling it on”, and we are also playing with the shimmer paints by Luminarte in this course.  I will be sharing some of my work soon.  My camera battery is dead at the moment.

So, that’s all for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Poe
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 11:50:26

    Kim, these are wonderful. These faces are lovely. Great job! I still have to do my charts.

    Reply

  2. Krys
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 13:14:15

    Ooh nice portraits! You learned that from jodi’s class??

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 13:25:27

      Hi Krys! Thank you so much for the comment. And, YES, I learned this from Jodi’s class. However, I should say that I have taken other face drawing classes – from Willowing (Tam), and Jane Davenport. They all have their own trademarks, it seems, and they all teach slightly differently, but after a couple of years of drawing faces, I’m getting better at it! 🙂

      Reply

  3. simplytrece
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 16:00:57

    Your faces are hauntingly beautiful. I particularly like the second one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

