Finish in Five – Art Journal Tutorial Series – Episode #1

Hello my friends!  I am so incredibly excited to announce my new art journaling tutorial series, which I am calling – Finish in Five! 

This is how it works:

I will randomly choose 5 techniques or products, and create a journal page or spread, using ONLY those 5 techniques or products.

I have been doing this for a while, and find it really gets me inspired, and able to create an art journal page easily and pretty quickly (if that’s what I want). Sometimes I only have a few minutes to play in my art journal, and I used to waste those few minutes staring at the blank page! Not any more.

So, the idea is to take the 5 techniques/products, and let your imagination run wild! Seriously! With only 5 things to think about, just play play play! You can use the chosen 5 in as many different ways as you want. My first challenge is to use these five:

1. spray (any kind of spray – homemade, Dylusions, alcohol, water…..)

2. stencil (homemade, or other…even household items can be used as stencils!)

3. stamp (as many different stamps as you want, with any medium you wish)

4. Doodle (draw, write, scribble….)

5. tape (washi, double-sided, duck, packing…)

There you have it. Now, get out your journal, and play! My plan is to post these challenges at least once a month. I may even create more than one video and/or journal page with the SAME FIVE. You will be amazed at how different 2 pages can be, with the same five things.

And, to make my artistic life EVEN SWEETER, I have been selected as an official ART GEEK!  That’s right, folks, I am a geek!  lol  Christy Sobolewski is the founder and president of the Art Geeks Ning group, which you can find here.  It is totally FREE to join, and there are tons of FREE classes being offered by some incredibly talented instructors!  So, click on over and check it out.  I am offering a prize to participants of my challenge – an art journaling kit, including a handmade art journal, and some ephemera to get you started, or get you inspired to create some art journal pages.

Without further delay, here is my video:

Here is my page.  And, yep, I used only FIVE products/techniques!  I amaze me.  lol

finish in five2 001

Products used (I am not being sponsored by any of the companies/products featured):

  • Dylusions Ink Sprays and Art Journal
  • Crafter’s Workshop, and Prima Stencils
  • Heidi Swapp (very old, no longer available) letter masks
  • Inkadinkado stamps (clock and butterfly/clock)
  • Unknown text “love” stamp
  • Various washi tapes
  • Faber-Castell doodling pen

I hope you enjoy watching me play, and if you participate, you could win stuff!  🙂  Thank you so much for stopping by!  🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Osborn
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 23:24:33

    fun fun fun! Went ahead and signed up for the Art Geeks-

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Finish in Five – Art Journaling Video – Episode 1.1 « Kim's Kreative Korner
  3. Ann Powell
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 20:47:39

    Love all of your great videos! Thank you! Can I ask what letter stickers you are using when you peel them off a large sheet, lay them on the page and spray over them. Then you peel them up. What type of stickers are they?

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Mar 23, 2013 @ 23:43:43

      Thank you, Ann, for your kind words. Those letter stickers are no longer available, but I think theymahould bring them back, I get so many questions about them! They are by Heidi swapp.

      Reply

  4. timeless Rituals
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 01:04:51

    I have just watched your videos on youtube!! Very clever and amazing! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

