Art Journaling With Christy – 30 Pages in 90 Days

Hello my friends!  Well, the “30 Pages” – aka 30 Pages in 90 Days art journaling class is coming to an end.  I am so sad to see it end!  Today, I thought I would do a little review of the class, now that it is almost complete.  To start – I am not being compensated in any way for my review.  I am affiliated with Art Geeks, Christy’s other art journaling group (I am a teacher there), but I took this paid class with Christy, (aka Gulfsprite) – just to push myself out of my usual way of art journaling.  AND, it really did do that.  I learned so much.  I was a bit surprised at how much I learned.  You see, I have been art journaling for a few years now, so I considered myself to be an “advanced” art journaler.  But, that’s the beauty of mixed media, and art journaling.  There are so many different ways to mix media, and so many medias to play with!  I never, never get bored.  I am always excited to get out my art journal.  But, over the last 87 days, the excitement was heightened by the fact that I was watching a new art journaling video every day!

I was so excited, and enjoyed the process so much, that I ended up making some “process” videos of some of the classes.  In case you missed them, here they are:

What did I like about this class?  Here are just a few things that popped into my head this morning:

  1.   A video every day for 90 days.
  2.   The element of surprise – each page is divided into 3 videos, and (if you are able to keep up), you don’t know what the final page will look like until video #3 of each page.
  3.  Christy’s detailed instruction and sense of humor.  Such a fun combination!
  4. Christy’s extensive knowledge of supplies and techniques, which she readily shares.  She often gives you alternatives to the supplies she uses.  She encourages you to use what you have, instead of spending a fortune on supplies.  (of course,  you can if you wish!  lol)
  5. The community and sharing amongst fellow artists.  It was so much fun to see what others did with Christy’s instruction, and to get feedback from Christy and the other artists on my work.  Not only is there the ability to post your work within the Ning group, but she also has a very active Facebook group for students.
  6.  I got to use up a ton of my old scrapbooking supplies!
  7. I got to use some of my new art supplies (and to buy a few more lol)!
  8.  Christy showed me ways to use old supplies to create something new and exciting.
  9.  Each and every art journal page could be a work of art all on its own!  Seriously, this class could be used to make 30 canvases!  Actually, now that I have learned so many new techniques, they are all mix-and-match-able.  My creative mind is on fire!  🙂
  10.  All videos are downloadable, if you choose to keep them on your computer.  But, access to this class won’t expire any time soon.  In fact, the original 30 days class, which she did in 2011, is still available.  And, it’s on sale right now for only $35.00!  I have already signed up, and can’t wait to get started.  But, Christy is retiring this class on May 31st, 2013, so if you are thinking about signing up, do it now!

What didn’t I like about the class?

Just one thing.  I wasn’t able to keep up!  But, (it’s not really a bad thing) – because now I get to go back and do the classes that I wasn’t able to complete during the live class.  AND, Christy is starting another live class on June 1st, so I plan to participate in this class as well.  It’s just so much fun to see other artists’ work, and to share my own in a comfortable, non-threatening environment.

I am planning to do a journal flip video as soon as I finish all 30 pages!  So, keep watching my blog for that.  🙂

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darlene
    May 28, 2013 @ 11:28:55

    thanks…very interesting stuff!

    Reply

  2. Gulfsprite
    May 28, 2013 @ 18:01:54

    It is so exciting when students are also video lovers and they make these awesome pages and videos 🙂 Thank you so much for this review, it really means the world to me that students love the class!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

