Art Journal Flip – Video

Hello my friends!  I made a video last night with my webcam.  I have had this webcam for a couple of years, but have never been able to figure out how to get audio with it.  I’ve been making my videos with my little point and shoot camera, which works fine, but has limited space, so I got annoyed with having to stop recording, upload to my computer, and continue recording, and all my footage is broken into smaller clips.  So, with the help of an online friend (thank you, Christy!), I got the audio working, and recorded my video.  That part was easy.  So, now the fun part starts – the editing.  I imported all the footage into Windows Live Movie Maker, and begun to play.  I generally enjoy the video editing.  I guess it’s because I get to be creative with animations, and special effects.  So, after several hours of editing (yes, hours!), I’m almost finished, when the program crashes.  The computer screen goes blank, and nothing will work.  Restart the computer.  Safe mode.  Nope.  It’s gone.  I had to start again from scratch.  This time, I remember to SAVE FREQUENTLY!  But, after just a couple of minutes, it crashes again.  And again.  And again.  grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.  So, I chat a bit with some of my fellow video makers, and it seems that using a webcam isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.  There seems to be some kind of a compatibility issue with WLMM.  So, back to using my little point-n-shoot until I can do some research and figure out what kind of camcorder I should get.  Does anyone have any suggestions?  I’m on a PC, with Windows 7, and Windows Live Movie Maker for editing.  ANYONE?  I would really appreciate some help with my research.

So, I did eventually get my video finished – with very few animations and special effects.  It’s an art journal flip of my pages from Christy Sobolewski’s 30 Pages in 90 Days class.  I was able to complete 15 out of the 30 pages (not all of them are in the video, just in case you’re counting lol).  I did a couple of them in other journals until I decided to take a journal apart and work on the loose pages, like Christy does in her class.  She is running one more live class, and registration is open now.  The class will start on June 10.  This will be the last live class.  After that, the class will be offered in a self-study format.  I highly recommend the live class.  Although there are certainly some advantages to the live class (immediate gratification), the community of the live class is a fantastic experience.

So, here’s my vid:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geri P.
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 11:59:31

    I’m so sorry you had to go through that. It reminds me of a technology news show I watched during this past Christmas season. The host was talking to the guest about the most technologically advanced Christmas gifts. This morphed into a whole conversation about the fact that we all have all these different TVs, computers, remotes, phones, etc, etc, etc from SOOO many different companies and trying to use them together. Of course this goes for all the different software applications and software companies as well. This very accomplished guest (I forget his name) emphasized that it is miraculous that as many of these things even work together as well as they do. The main point is that we should not at all be surprised when then don’t work together as we would like and should actually expect it. I don’t have the answer you are looking for as I don’t have enough info about your pc. Besides the operating system you use, what kind of computer, browser(s) you are using as these affect the performance also. Make sure you have the WLMM for Windows 7 and not Windows 8. Also, if you have a 32 or a 64 bit pc…and which of these is for the WLMM you have. I hopes this helps even a little.

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 12:43:20

      Hi Geri! Thanks you so much for your comment. My computer is generic – I had it built to my specifications. I am using Chrome as my browser at present. How do I know if my pc is 32 or 64 bit? I do have WLMM for Windows 7.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

