Pan Pastels in my Art Journal

So, I decided to try an experiment with my Pan Pastels.  I pulled out my Dylusions art journal, and prepped my page with Golden Acrylic Ground for Pastels.  I didn’t like the rough texture, so I sanded it a bit with a sanding block, and began playing with my Pan Pastels.  It was much different than the pastel paper, and pastel board I’ve been using.  I didn’t really like it much, to be completely honest.  The texture left by the ground is quite visible, even after several layers of Pan Pastels.  Oh well….that’s why I tried it in my journal.  I also added some white paint marker to the waves, to make them more white, and that worked really well.  Here it is….let me know what you think, please.  🙂

beach4

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mannwielermaggieM
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 19:00:33

    I like! I think it came out great! Thanks for sharing:)

    Reply

  2. marjiekemper
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 14:31:26

    Just had a great catchup on your blog… you are rocking the pan pastels! Looks like a wonderful weekend with Donna and other artsy-minded peeps. Lucky gal!

    Reply

  3. rcravey
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 21:58:51

    This is beautiful. Reminds me of a recent trip to Panama. The ocean was gorgeous; just like your creation.

    Reply

  4. Laura Shelton Thykeson
    Mar 20, 2014 @ 13:20:28

    I love the misty look of the piece you did! To me, the texture and results really add to and go with the subject matter of your artwork…I love the PanPastels and am always looking for new ways to use them-thanks for the demo!

    check out my art blog at http://tazscorner1.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

