Art Journaling with Dina Wakley

Hello my friends!  I have lots of art to share with you today.  I spent the weekend at the Art House Studio in Cambridge, Ontario where the fabulous Dina Wakley taught some classes.  It was an art marathon!  Saturday was 11 hours of arting.  I was so exhausted, but totally inspired.  I was also able to spend time with my friend, Effy Wild, (awesomesauceness!) and met Paula Phillips (Journal Artista) (adorable!).  Karen Ellis was the hostess, and, as usual, put on a fabulous weekend of art…and treats…cookies, too!  🙂

The first class was all about faces…drawing, and painting them.  Dina uses the Stabilo “All” pencil for all her drawing, and I must say, I fell in love with this magic little art tool.  The down side – it’s not erasable…the up side  – it’s not erasable.   And, it totally turns into paint when you get it wet.  The main reason I took this class was to learn how to loosen up with my drawing.  Dina pushed me outside my comfort zone a few times.  We drew a face with our non-dominant hands, and we drew a face with a chopstick and sumi ink!  Some even drew with a stick dipped in sumi ink.  The result was a totally imperfect, and loose, emotional style of face.  *LOVE*  Here is a sampling of what I did in class:

This first girl was done before we had any instruction from Dina.  So, you can see that I have drawn faces before, but my style was a lot less “loose”.  Remember – no erasing!  I love the look of the Stabilo pencil dissolved with water!

Dina first girl

This girl was drawn with my left hand, using the Stabilo pencil.  I finished her with some acrylic paint, and paint markers.

Dina face left hand

This girl was drawn in minutes, over an acrylic paint background, and the pencil was dissolved with water.

My next girl was done on a pre-sprayed (Dylusions) background, with a chopstick and sumi ink.  I added some acrylic paint after I got home.

Face ink

Saturday evening’s class was called “Beyond the Ink Pad”, and we played with stamps in new ways.

This is the only page I actually completed.

Dina aj page

After I got home, I couldn’t wait to play with my newfound skills.  This girl makes me happy!  🙂

funky color girl  I began this spread with the Donna Downey stamp, using Gelatos.  I drew the face with a few colors of Stabilo All Pencils, and dissolved them with water, and then added a few touches here and there with paint markers.  I added the blue background with Distress Stain in Broken China.  Then, I played with my new Rhonda Palazzari stencil with Ranger Distress Paints….*LOVE*.  It’s not done yet, but I love it thus far.

dina spread homeSo, that’s all for today.  Thanks so much for stopping by!  

I’ve also been playing with some of the new Jane Davenport face stencils, and will be sharing my results tomorrow.  🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 12:53:39

    Fabulous! I’m not sure I could even HOLD a tool with my left hand. It’s too
    used to just being along for the ride! LOL!

    Reply

  2. Kim Reed
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 13:39:38

    You take the best classes from the best teachers in the industry, your art just keeps evolving beautfully!

    Reply

  3. fluffyash
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 17:37:19

    Great new skills thanks for sharing

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  4. Mary Warren
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 14:49:46

    well now…using my left hand ???…I will try it…thanks for the push.

    Reply

  5. Linda K
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 15:46:30

    oh wow-what fantastic drawings!! I’m so jealous you got to take a class with Dina-I love her style and use her techniques from the book quite often. I have those pencils in several colors now thanks to her 🙂

    Reply

  6. Tracy
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 02:31:25

    11 hours! I’m surprised you could hold a brush/pen/pencil in either hand! Great set of pages.

    Reply

  7. marjiekemper
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 12:01:27

    Sounds like an absolutely fabulous day!

    Reply

  8. Maricella
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 15:46:49

    Wonderful drawings! It appears you had a very productive day.

    Reply

  9. Looking Out The Window
    Jan 18, 2016 @ 13:46:25

    Enjoyed hearing about your learning experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

