Lots of Art Journaling

I have been doing lots of art journaling lately.  I thought I’d share a few pages today.  This first one was so much fun to create.  I was inspired by some magazine ads that had these vibrant colored backgrounds, in all the colors of the rainbow!  So, I got out my star punches, and punched out a bunch of stars.  But, before I added them to the page, I stenciled some molding paste through a Dylusions star stencil.  Then, I sprayed some of my Dylusions spray inks across the top of the page, again, in all the colors of the rainbow.  I sprayed the inks with water to make them drip.  Then, I sprayed through the same Dylusions star stencil with the Dylusions white spray ink.  Then, I glued the punched stars down, added some dimensional dots, a bit of doodling, journaling, and VOILA!  😉Lots of Art Journaling

This next page started out with an image transfer of the lady, but it turned out way too dark, so I played with paint to give her a goth look.  Then, I painted, stamped and stenciled the background, added some journaling and I was done!  🙂

hopeful

 

My next face was done with Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s face stencil.  I journaled in her hair, and added lots of layers of paint and inks and stenciling to the background.  The journaling was stamped with Dylusions alphabet stamps.

grateful

This last page was so much fun to create!  I was inspired by some Pinterest images of abstract, kind of Picasso-inspired faces.  I started with lots of colors in the background, that I did not like at all.  I like to use Dina Wakley’s term –  “Puke on a page”.  In the past, I would have gessoed over the page, and started over, but this time I just went with it, and I love the way it turned out!  I used lots of different acrylic mediums – from markers, to Golden fluid acrylics, to Silks Acrylic Glazes.  🙂

expressionist

 

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy B
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 21:57:09

    Wow! What wonderful art! I especially love Julie’s stencil. You really made it come alive.

    Reply

  2. Melita
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 01:08:14

    Love all of these! The colours on the star page are fabulous, adn that last face is just…wow! Love everything about it!

    Reply

  3. createdincuckooland
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 15:36:00

    Gorgeous! Very colourful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

