Melbun (aka Melbourne)

We flew from Hobart to Melbun today (Aussies don’t pronounce the “r”). It was a quick, one hour flight. It was 20 degrees when we left Tasmania, and 39 degrees when we arrived in Melbourne. Apparently this is a heatwave…so, it’s hot even by Aussie standards. It is supposed to cool down by the weekend, so I hope we don’t melt at the Aussie Open.

I’m happy to stay in the same hotel for the next 5 nights. I don’t really like changing hotels daily. This vacation is the first time, for me, that I have moved around so much. I don’t travel real well (I get motion sickness in the bathtub lol). So I take Gravol which knocks me on my Ass for 24 hours. I get sleepy, and grumpy. Steve went for a walk…now you know why! 😉 Oh well, at least I have internet access, so I can keep you all updated.

I’ve learned a lot about Australia in the last 7 days

  • Servers don’t get tips. The minimum wage for the service industry here is 20% higher.
  • Lots of restaurants don’t have liquor licences – you bring your own and pay a corkage fee (usually $3 to $5).
  • A “Bottle Store” is where you buy liquor.
  • It is expensive here. Everything seems to cost more than in Canada.
  • Driving on the wrong (left) side of the road is difficult!  You know why women can’t drive in Australia?  Because they’re ALWAYS RIGHT!  (I made that one up!)
  • Male seahorses carry their young and give birth.
  • Don’t put your Tim Holtz scissors in your carry-on luggage, even on domestic flights.  😦
  • “Rocket” is a green leafy vegetable, similar to arugula

There is more, but I can’t think of anything else at the moment.  I’ll share some more pics instead.  Maybe not.  For some reason WordPress won’t add photos to this post.  I’ll try later.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nina
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 07:08:51

    I have the same travel problem, but this makes it all possible.
    http://www.upi.com.au/sea-band/
    Since I use this, I can travel by plane, boat, train and bus without being sick! .

    Reply

  2. Ruthanne Parker
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 10:11:33

    Living in Melbourne, Florida, where so many do not know how to say our name either. Hope you get better and can enjoy the travel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

