Before My Mojo Left Me…

First of all, I want to thank all my loyal blog readers, especially those of you who took the time to leave me a comment on yesterday’s post.  I got lots of good ideas, and just reading the comments improved my mood.  I think I feel my mojo coming back!  As a matter of fact, I took some of the advice, and did some “art” while watching television last night.  I ended up copying another artist’s work, because that just seemed easy to me. I will share what I did once I find the original artist’s work so that I can give credit (and gratitude).  I also played a little bit in my Documented Life Planner, which has been sadly neglected lately.

I got outside a few times yesterday and enjoyed the beautiful weather we have been getting lately.  I’m trying not to think about the fact that I would rather be on the tennis court. *Soon enough, Kim….soon enough.*  It is just so difficult for me when I am unable to play tennis.  I have played now for 30+ years, and it’s a huge part of my life.  Not only do I love the game, the exercise, the competition, and (pretty much) everything about it, but it is also my main social outlet.  So, I tend to isolate myself when I can’t play tennis.  I don’t want to spend time with my tennis friends because it just makes me miss it (and them) even more.  And, of course, they are all out playing tennis anyway.

On to happier things…before my Mojo left me, I was quite prolific!  I participated in my very first art show, and sold my first piece of art!  Yay me!  So I thought I’d share one of those pre-mojo pieces today.

This piece was a gift for my niece, who just had a baby boy.  The idea for the animals on a vertical canvas was totally inspired by Tam (Willowing) and one of her recent Lifebook 2014 lessons.   I hope my niece has received it by now.  If not, she may get a little preview (if she has time to read my blog lol).  Jacob’s nursery colors are aqua, gray, and yellow.  This is a true mixed media piece, with lots of layers, collage, various paint tools, etc.  I have to toot my own horn, and say that I really love this!  I hope Mich loves it, too.  It’s 18″ x 36″.  I had originally intended it to be a growth chart, but decided to leave it as is.  I can always add the measurement lines along the right edge later, if the recipient so chooses.

michgift

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Reed
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 10:35:45

    Yay, Kim!…that’s so awesome that you sold your very first art piece, super cute one that you posted today. You’ll be back on the tennis court in no time at all. I used to play religiously as well, high school and college teams, and then league play for 15 years after. I haven’t been on a court though in 10+ years now. Keep talking about it though, it may inspire me to get back out!

    Reply

  2. pinkpearl1515
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 10:43:35

    Happy Place. Like the animals.

    Reply

  3. mannwielermaggie
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 16:15:58

    Too stinkin’ cute for words! She’s gonna love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

