Mixed Media Abstract Art

I’m still struggling with health concerns, but my art is helping me to cope.  So, I completed this highly textured mixed media piece over several days (weeks!).  The techniques and concept were inspired by Karen Hale.  I love her work!  I put my own personal spin on it, with the chipboard numbers, collage, and various textural mediums, oh, and some stenciling too.  What do you think?  I always love feedback….good or bad!  🙂

KHinspired

KHInspireddetailKHinspireddetail4

KHinspireddetail3KHinspireddetail2

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:42:25

    It’s very pretty, Kim

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  2. Kim Reed
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 18:03:25

    Wow, that is a very stunning piece of art, so much interest all over the piece! Thanks for the link to Karen’s website because I was not familiar with her work at all. I adore Jacqueline Sullivan’s abstract art and Karen’s is along that same vein (well, kinda’ sorta’ anyway!). I know your recovery hasn’t been very speedy, but it looks like you have made the most of the situation (as this piece attests!).

    Reply

  3. Joy Nelson
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 19:00:35

    I love the dimension the numbers give. Just to get back into your art and have a vibrant end product should give you a big boost. I have been in the same situation and slowly slowly you will get there. Believe me. All the best to you Kim.

    Reply

  4. Denise Spillane
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 23:39:15

    Kim, I am so sorry yo are having health issues. I wish you healing and love. I wanted to just say how beautiful this piece is, but had to wish you health too. This piece is full of joy to me.

    Reply

  5. Mary Warren
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 23:58:13

    I rarely think of burying the chipboard pieces beneath pain…always wanting to add them later but I LOVE the way they sneak out at you when layered first. This is a stunning piece.

    Reply

    • kimmer
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 11:07:52

      Notice your typo? “burying the chipboard pieces beneath pain” (I believe you meant paint) – but it’s ironic, because I am trying to bury my pain with my art! Thank you for your kind comment, Mary!

      Reply

  6. Kim Gnagy
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 09:29:59

    I love it!!

    Reply

  7. Felicia Aaron
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 11:01:19

    Kim, love all this abstract color goodness! Clever with the chipboard peeping through….great effect! I pray for your health issues that you would be restored to good health swiftly! Thanks for sharing this piece and blessings for you!

    Reply

  8. linda crowe (@lcrowe_linda)
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 07:22:39

    Love this, especially the embedded chipboard. Adds great interest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

