A Face A Day for September

I really enjoy drawing and painting faces.  I haven’t been doing many faces lately, so I decided that I was going to try (again) to do a face a day for a whole month.  I’ve tried this before, and wasn’t able to make it through the whole month.  So, this time, I AM GOING TO DO IT!  🙂  Here’s face #1 – done entirely with Posca Paint Markers, on my recliner (with my TENS machine and my heating pad – my new reality) – while watching the U.S. Open Tennis championships.  The markers definitely have their limits, but it was fun to be able to “paint” without the mess.   Having said that, this one was inspired by Eduard Fleminsky.  His portraits are much more realistic, but he uses color in such a creative way.

Edited to add — I just found a challenge group called ’29 faces’.  so I will be participating in this challenge.

 FADSept1

 I’m taking a few online classes right now with some awesome portrait artists, so it should be easy to get inspired and try different styles of faces.  So, my plan for tomorrow’s face is to do a paint-over collage, Tam (Willowing) style.  I’ve done this before, with “so-so” results.  I love the idea of using a magazine image.  I think it helps to train your brain to paint faces, and it’s FUN!  🙂

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 19:03:23

    The bright colors look wonderful!

    Reply

  2. Susan Florian
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 08:13:44

    That could be a self portrait. Love the lines. Very engaging.

    Reply

  3. Cotton Picker
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 08:59:45

    Beautiful colours.

    Reply

  4. Ursula
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 06:00:35

    I think you worked those paint markers really well.

    Reply

  5. marjiekemper
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 09:53:38

    Beautiful! Love your colors. Super idea to do one a day.

    Reply

  6. clare
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 17:00:14

    Fab face, such great colours.

    Reply

  7. twinkletoes2day
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 19:57:19

    Loving the colours you used 😀

    Reply

  8. susupetal
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 01:38:19

    Powerful colors, inspiring and strengthening!

    Reply

  9. Gloria
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 10:18:00

    Awesome face. The colors very exciting.

    Reply

  10. APG Jamie
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 11:37:54

    I look forward to seeing more of your faces

    Reply

  11. pascale richel hutt
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 08:32:26

    awesome work !

    Reply

  12. Matkatar
    Sep 21, 2014 @ 14:54:00

    I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

