2014 – The Good, the Bad, and the Sad

selfiedec14_edited-1I know I haven’t blogged much lately, but I do plan to change that!  2014 was VERY difficult for me.  I am so very hopeful that 2015 will be a much better year.

I did have a nice, quiet Christmas, spent with hubby, kitties, and hubby’s family.  Santasteve was VERY good to me.  I am one grateful girl.

IMG_3764IMG_3749

IMG_3739

Even though we – 1.  took our dream vacation (a whole month in Australia!), and – 2.  built a new BEAUTIFUL home, 🙂 – I also suffered a serious back injury, in May.  And I lost some very special people. 😦  As a result of my injury, I lost an entire summer season of tennis.  That is the first time that has happened in about 25 years.  Not only is my tennis fantastic exercise, it is also my primary social outlet.  I am also unable to exercise, and that depresses me even more.  Secondly, as a result of our move, I wasn’t able to do much art.  These are the two things that keep me grounded, and help me deal with the stress of life.  I’m still not recovered from my back injury, unfortunately, but after months of waiting, I finally have an appointment at the local Pain Clinic on February 6, so I am hopeful that I can find a drug-free method of pain management (at the very least).  I lost my Mom, unexpectedly, in November, and I am still so sad about that. RIP Mom.  😦

Mom annd I

BUT, my art studio is now complete!  I am so excited, and grateful to my fabulous husband.  I now have the most awesome space in which to create!  I still need to do some organizing, but I am working slowly on that.  🙂

Here is what it looked like on December 3 – sorry the photos aren’t the best quality, but you get the general idea.  It’s changed a LOT since then.  When it’s “finished” (will it ever be?) – I’ll post updated pictures.  It’s a HUGE room in the basement, with large windows, and tons of storage, horizontal workspaces, excellent lighting, and a cork floor!  I have been creative most of my life, so I have managed to accumulate quite the collection of supplies.

IMG_0108 IMG_0109 IMG_0110

Here are a couple more, taken a couple of weeks ago:IMG_3738
IMG_3737IMG_3740

And….more progress:IMG_3742IMG_3741IMG_3743

And, the centre island worktable is installed!  This is the only picture I have taken so far.  Wilson likes it.  😉

IMG_3744

This blog post has taken way longer than I had anticipated.  But, I hope you enjoyed taking a peek into my life.  Thank you so much for stopping by.  I have another post almost ready to post – I will be talking about the online classes I plan to take for 2015.  Since I can’t play tennis, and I have this awesome art studio, I REALLY want to do tons and tons of art!  So, check back tomorrow….ta ta for now!  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. primdollie
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 16:13:28

    I just recently started following your blog and wow I am Loving your new studio space and though mine is all new too (and quite wonderful is way smaller than yours!! by a LOT hehehe! but love it just the same pics on my instagram feed under primdollie) I’m sorry about your back injury and hope they find some relief for you at the pain clinic (know all to well about pain and still trying to find answers to mine!) So very Sorry too about your mother , I lost my brother to brain cancer this month. so sad for his dear wife and he fought long and hard but sadly was still a loosing battle. sending you giant hugs and prayers for comfort and peace! thnx for sharing your lovely studio and all! I hope to get my blog back up and running again. I stopped it when we found out about my brother’s CA! it has been a long battle. :(( just couldn’t find joy in it, but hope to again soon! Happy New Year to you and yours!

    Reply

  2. Nancy Allingham
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 16:24:09

    This is totally awesome, Kim. Can I come live with you??? You do deserve this beautiful space if you can’t play tennis – I know what it would feel like to be deprived of my walking and exercising!! Happy New Year to you and see you – probably – on some of the creative FB sites.

    Reply

  3. Fatima
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 00:43:34

    Kim! Congratulations on the beautiful home, and your new art space! Looks like you could have an art party in there, have some arty friends over for a “crop” of sorts, or maybe teach your own classes if you wanted.

    I’ve actually been thinking about you lately, wondering how you’re doing. I kept wanting to visit your blog to see if you’d updated (yes, you were missed!), but every time I got online, I would somehow forget.

    I’m so, so sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. I know losing a loved one is a pain that never fully heals, but I pray you’ll be able to find peace and solace soon.

    I’m also sorry to hear about the back injury, and how it’s stopped you from tennis and exercising. That’s tough. I wonder if you’re able to do yoga? It’s wonderful for the back, and you can start with gentle routines, yoga for back pain, etc. I’m not sure about the extent of your injury or pain, so I realize even that might not be possible, but I thought I would suggest it anyway.

    Thank you for sharing your life updates with us. Looking forward to seeing more of your art and adventures as the year unfolds :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

