Found Poetry – Art Journaling

So, inspired by one of Donna Downey’s “Inspiration Wednesday” lessons, I dug out some book text that I’d had in my stash forever, and randomly glued them down to my art journal.  They were from a children’s book, which I chose because of the large size of the type.  But, little did I know what those pages would reveal.  I can’t recall ever doing this “found poetry” technique before, and having used pages from a children’s book, I didn’t expect to find anything meaningful.  Was I ever wrong.

I haven’t decided whether or not to give it a title, mostly because I can’t come up with anything that fits, so here it is.  The only thing I “edited” was the punctuation.

:Beautiful

And, just so that you don’t think I’m really a fabulous poet (lol), who was able to write something meaningful about her life as it happened over the last six months… here’s the journal pages, with the words I “randomly” picked from the children’s book text.  I’m still a little blown away by this.

poetryl poetryrSo, now I will finish this journal page.  Art has, and will continue to get me through ANYTHING.  🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by.  Have you ever tried this technique?  If not, you MUST.  And, please share your results.  I would love to see them!  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marjiekemper
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 18:59:56

    Such a fun technique and it’s been ages since I’ve done it – thank you for the reminder – off to pin so I *remember*

    Reply

  2. Jill
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 07:08:33

    What a fun technique!!! I’ve never tried this sort of thing in my journal but now I just might try!!!

    Reply

  3. Fatima
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 15:14:22

    I love found poetry! Yours is quite meaningful and raw, Kim, thank you for sharing.

    I did some once upon a time in an altered book which is still mostly unfinished. The original book was supposed to be motivational, but I found it a drag to read. I liked the size of the book though, its cream-colored pages, and already distressed edges, so I wanted to keep it and turn it into something actually motivating for me.

    Yeah, the original text was already supposed to be inspiring, but I was still surprised by the found poetry that spoke so *personally* to me. For example:

    the
    question

    is

    will

    your heart

    read the words

    Reply

Leave a Reply

